Phoebe Unwin: Iris
  • Towner Art Gallery
    Devonshire Park
    College Road
    BN21 4JJ
Phoebe Unwin’s paintings are rooted in personal experience, with each becoming a distinct exploration in the physical and emotive aspects of looking. For instance, the relationship one’s body has with the perception of a subject: a speedy profile, of swimming, an egg being boiled or the mind’s eye perspective of a room from above.

This exhibition, which includes new works, takes its name from the artist’s late maternal grandmother and reflects on the ideas surrounding how the iris works, moving from the intimate and unspoken to the communal, stretching to different times, reflective of the nature of painting itself.

A wide spectrum of colour, in oil and acrylic paint is used across the works that will be exhibited: varying translucencies and palette ranges trigger the different kinds of associations familiar subjects might provoke. The paintings take the experience of the self to be something ever changeable, in scale and psychological presence.

Future dates
  • Wednesday 21st August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Thursday 22nd August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Friday 23rd August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Saturday 24th August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Sunday 25th August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Monday 26th August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Tuesday 27th August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Wednesday 28th August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Thursday 29th August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Friday 30th August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Saturday 31st August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Sunday 1st September 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Monday 2nd September 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Tuesday 3rd September 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Wednesday 4th September 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Thursday 5th September 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Friday 6th September 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Saturday 7th September 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Sunday 8th September 10:00am until 5:00pm
More
* thebestof cannot be held responsible for any changes, amends or cancellations of an event