Dineo Seshee Bopape: Sedibeng, it comes with the rain
  • Towner Art Gallery
    Devonshire Park
    College Road
    BN21 4JJ
Born and based in South Africa, Dineo Seshee Bopape addresses politics, race, spirituality, gender and sexuality in her ambitious large scale installations which are created with using sound, found objects and moving image.

Sedibeng, it comes with the rain is an immersive installation set in an environment of reflecting and refracting light, on a floor strewn with feathers, metal abstractions, letter charms, bags of healing herbs, images of ripe fruits and flowers native to Africa, the work explores notions of fertility, land, resistance, Afro-diasporic spiritual aesthetics and practices. Bopape has exhibited work across the globe, including at the 10th Berlin Biennale and Palais de Tokyo, Paris. This will be the artist’s first major solo presentation in England.

Sedibeng, it comes with the rain was acquired by the Contemporary Art Society for Towner’s collection at Frieze London in 2017, joining many other works in Towner’s collection anchored in a strong sense of place.

Future dates
  • Wednesday 21st August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Thursday 22nd August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Friday 23rd August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Saturday 24th August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Sunday 25th August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Monday 26th August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Tuesday 27th August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Wednesday 28th August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Thursday 29th August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Friday 30th August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Saturday 31st August 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Sunday 1st September 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Monday 2nd September 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Tuesday 3rd September 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Wednesday 4th September 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Thursday 5th September 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Friday 6th September 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Saturday 7th September 10:00am until 5:00pm
  • Sunday 8th September 10:00am until 5:00pm
More
* thebestof cannot be held responsible for any changes, amends or cancellations of an event