The Sheldon B&B

4.6/5 based on 316 reviews
Latest Reviews
Lovely, cozy, comfortable b+b. Staff are friendly and there are plenty of covid measures in place. Single room - well equipped, comfortable bed. Great location. Private on site parking! Good value for money. would recommend
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
Nice B&B with added benefit of off the road parking..Rooms clean and tidy with comfortable bed. Not so sure about the breakfast in a bag, understood CV issues, but felt that a tray could have been used ,with tea or coffee pot,cup and saucer,glass of orange juice, bowl for cereal, daughter had hot food that arrived Luke warm. Toast arrived in polythene bag ,soon learnt to take out straight away as it became wet in the bag.They state most of the packaging is recyclable,But that’s not an issue if you did as I have suggested.All that is required is to wash up. Otherwise give them a try.
thebestof.co.uk
Source: thebestof.co.uk

Reply from The Sheldon B&B:
Hi Chris, Part of our covid conditions to reopen was to have disposable items, do we are not cross contaminating us, our staff and indeed other guests by using reusable items. We have sourced veg-ware, bio or photo-degradable products to ensure we are not burdening our planet. Lots of thought and consideration has gone into our re-opening and we do clearly advertise what we are offering.
We stayed here for just one night. What a lovely hotel. Will definitely be my go to place when I come to Eastbourne. I had my elderly parents with me also. The rooms we had were clean and spacious and despite these COVID times and restrictions it was comfortable, clean and homely. Breakfast was safely delivered to our rooms and was fresh and of a really good standard. The best part was the proximity of the hotel to the beach and town. For Mum, who has limited mobility it was an easy walk to a restaurant in the evening and a town visit in the morning. So wonderful being so close to the sea. I enjoyed a sunrise stroll along the prom reliving happy memories of my youth there! We were very happy and impressed by how well they were coping with the restricted service. We met Judy, the owner, who was welcoming and clear about how we could have a safe stay. Highly recommended.
thebestof.co.uk
Source: thebestof.co.uk

Reply from The Sheldon B&B:
Thank you so much.
The Free Parking Is number one and the breakfast in a bag was fantastic, better than l thought it would be. Every thing was good, no negatives.
thebestof.co.uk
Source: thebestof.co.uk

Reply from The Sheldon B&B:
Thank you very much
Lovely place to stay. Excellent location. Staff really friendly and very accommodating. Very clean, good size rooms with plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits etc. Very COVID compliant, felt very safe. Loved the breakfast in a bag, very well thought out with a choice of hot breakfast rolls, cereals, fruit, yoghurt and flapjacks. The added benefit of off road private parking. Would definitely recommend. :D
thebestof.co.uk
Source: thebestof.co.uk

Reply from The Sheldon B&B:
Thank you so much.
The double suite room was spacious and perfect for a weekend break even in off season. Breakfast outside the room was a nice touch during COVID-19. However, the only thing resembling a spoon in the room was a stirring stick, and that was just one. Odd that such an oversight was made considering the teas and coffees provided. Spoilt what was otherwise a 5/5 room.
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
Lovely place to stay. Excellent location. Staff really friendly and very accommodating. Very clean, good size rooms with plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits etc. Very COVID compliant, felt very safe. Loved the breakfast in a bag, very well thought out with a choice of hot breakfast rolls, cereals, fruit, yoghurt and flapjacks. The added benefit of off road private parking. Would definitely recommend. :D
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
Lovely big room and just a few mins walk to the sea.
thebestof.co.uk
Source: thebestof.co.uk
Lovely place, close to town and few mins to beach. Breakfast in bag was very nice, with lots of choice. Room nice and big comfortable bed. Spoke to a very pleasant lady when booking. Will def stay again 😊
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
I booked a double room with single occupancy because I hate being crammed in to a small room. I was not disappointed. A lovely large room which was great as I was trying to escape being stuck at home with the Covid outbreak so a real tonic to stay somewhere else, and not fell trapped in a small room.
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
Arrived to a lovely spacious room spotlessly clean. Great location near shops, restaurants and also near the beach. Breakfast delivered to room because of Covid-19. Very impressed with breakfast but would like times a bit later. Latest slot was 8.30-9am. Free parking is a great bonus for this property. No fridge in room but was provided with an ice bucket full of ice on request to keep drinks cool which was lovely. The green spot lights outside front of building in the dark serve as a great landmark to find b&b.
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
Stayed one night and loved it, also had free parking. Friendly staff and nice breakfast. Will definitely stay there again. Great location and some great restaurants nearby. Nice walk along the promenade.
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
We found the hotel mediocre, given the high price. There are Covid restrictions in place which means a replacement breakfast is in place. However this breakfast was awful and left outside the room without a knock to let us know it had arrived. Nothing fresh; milk and orange juice warm. Toast cold. Had to go out for a decent coffee and did not order breakfast on second night of stay. The welcome was brusque. I accept that there are rules in place but under these circumstances customer service needs acceleration not hostility. Getting into the car park is tricky. Very narrow entrance. One inch either side of wing mirrors. The room was ok. Accommodated a double bed and a double sofa bed for the kids. But no fan in the very high temperatures. I wouldn’t stay again.
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
Worst experience during our stay.
thebestof.co.uk
Source: thebestof.co.uk

Reply from The Sheldon B&B:
Your problems began when you decided to not hand your key back. We had other guests booked in the room and you were unwilling to leave at check-out. You stated you "did not know we declined your request", then your group proceeded to take a shower , we had booking.com call you and as a last resort we called the police, particularly when you started accusing us of racism. The police and booking.com have reviewed all CCTV footage and cleared us of any wrong doing. You should be utterly ashamed of your behaviour and not only have you been flagged on booking.com, but Guestchek too, will will affect your ability to book internationally in the future.
I just love coming to stay here. Such a friendly bunch feels like a home away from home as I work down here during the week!
thebestof.co.uk
Source: thebestof.co.uk

Reply from The Sheldon B&B:
Thank you !
Judith and her team were an absolute delight from start to finish. The hotel is perfectly placed on the right side of town. Access to the centre and prom are equidistant. We have fairly particular standards and these were met with aplomb. Will definitely be back again.
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
Great Bed and breakfast, very clean rooms, ample private parking at rear of Hotel. Good quality Full Breakfast with all the trimmings at the right price. Pleasant local Pub round the corner called the Stage Door.
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
great start to stay when you can park your car in their large car park! A very warm welcome on arrival. We upgraded to a superior room and was delighted with it. It was spotlessly clean with beautiful crisp linen on the bed. The room was lovely and warm with a thermostat to control the radiator. En suite a little on the small side but still adequately big enough for us. Decor all very nicely painted. Our room was also in a quiet zone, not that that was really necessary for our stay as it was quiet throughout the building due to it being mid week in February! Great breakfast. Altogether a brilliant place to stay at a very reasonable rate.
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
My daughter and I stayed for the night. It is a really lovely property with very large rooms. Beautifully decorated and so much space. My daughter also loved the communal playroom which is such a lovely touch. The staff were really friendly and the breakfast was delicious. It is really close to the beach and the town centre. I would definitely stay here again, amazing value for money. Thanks so much!
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
Very good location easily walkable to the town and 2 mins walk to the coastal path. Large rear of building car park. The Sheldon has a lift and a reception. Friendly owners that you actually get to see daily at work as opposed to some places where you just see staff. I had a large double room that was ensuite. Good prices and a good breakfast. I had a bit of backache and was given a hot water bottle (without asking) to put behind my back at breakfast ! I can highly recommend
thebestof.co.uk
Source: thebestof.co.uk

Reply from The Sheldon B&B:
Thank you so much. I'm glad the hottie bottle worked, it's no fun when you are away from home and sore.
We enjoyed our stay here. Our room was very spacious. It was clean. The location is great, it’s not a far walk to the pier or to town. There’s parking. They have a very comprehensive binder in the room with all the info you need to know about your stay. My only suggestion is that maybe have the menu in the dining area instead of the comprehensive binder as some of us (my partner) didn’t read it and didn’t know what’s on the menu for breakfast. I enjoyed the breakfast. The staff were all very friendly. I like that they do pancakes here because not many places do pancakes and it’s what I love to have for breakfast, especially on holiday!
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
My wife Sharon and myself stayed at the Sheldon on the 14\12\19 .we were greeted by their son who was very polite .The room we booked was a superior room with a bath and separate shower the room itself was spacious and clean the bed was off the hook it was so comfortable as didn't want to get up !Breakfast was really nice good quality bacon nice sausages and not greasy .Choice of breakfast cereals ,coffee ,tea orange etc.We were met in the breakfast room by the owner who was very polite and took great pride in his hotel.The Sheldon is a family run business that is well run with a passion and heart that only a family can give a business.Thank you for a great stay and we will return soon .The Sheldon hotel is situated close to the town centre and 500m to a street of restaurants.
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
What a friendly place to stay. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners . I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Eastbourne. Within walking distance of the theatres and the best Italian restaurant for miles.
thebestof.co.uk
Source: thebestof.co.uk

Reply from The Sheldon B&B:
Thank you very much
My family and I visited The Sheldon in October, during the school holidays. Our rooms were very spacious, spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. I particularly enjoyed sitting in the main living area which was beautiful, and very cosy at night. In the adjoining room the kids had a play room (very well equipped with toys/games/books) which was also very impressive. I didn't feel restricted to sitting in the bedrooms and felt very comfortable in the communal rooms. I would like to mention the staff/owners in particular, as they were very helpful and welcoming throughout our stay. Every morning we had a very tasty cooked breakfast and unlimited cereal (esp the cheerios!) for the kids. Everything fresh and very well cooked. I like my sausages cooked well done, so they were more than happy to accommodate when requested. The location was perfect for walking to the pier, shops etc. I was able to park my car in the on site car park which was a massive bonus. They have a local shop + a really nice tapas restaurant at the bottom of the street... so this was really convenient for us too. I can't really fault the accommodation/staff at all. I will definitely return to The Sheldon on our next visit. Thank you for a lovely holiday!
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
Highly recommended. We recently stayed as part of a wedding party. Spotlessly clean. Run by very nice friendly helpful people. Ideal for families, large rooms. Children friendly dedicated play room/lounge with toys and games provided. Great breakfast with lots of choice. It even has free on site parking for guests.
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
Displaying page 1 of 13
Latest Reviews
Latest News & Updates

Eastbourne B&B Wins 2020 Tripadvisor Travelers’ Choice Award
05/08/2020

The Sheldon B&B Recognized Among Best in Eastbourne, East Sussex, Based on Outstanding 2020 Traveler Reviews Read article
Accreditations
Loved by Guests Winner 2020
Loved by Guests Winner 2020