Long service recognition for former councillors
24th September 2015
... Comments

Nine former councillors who served for a total of more than 140 years on St Edmundsbury Borough Council, have been honoured for their public service.

At St Edmundsbury’s full council meeting on Tuesday, long service awards were made to the following councillors:

  • ·         Robert Clifton Brown – Withersfield ward – 26 years service
  • ·         Trevor Beckwith – Eastgate and Moreton Hall wards – 20 years service
  • ·         Derek Redhead – Wickhambrook ward – 20 years service
  • ·         Helen Levack - Risby ward - 16 years service
  • ·         Stefan Oliver - Westgate ward - 13 years service
  • ·         Paul Farmer - Abbeygate ward – 12 years service
  • ·         Phillip French - Cangle, Haverhill North and Haverhill South wards – 12 years service
  • ·         Christopher Spicer - Pakenham ward – 12 years service
  • ·         Adam Whittaker - Haverhill West ward – 12 year service

Leader of the council Cllr John Griffiths said: “The time, the commitment and dedication that each of these former councillors gave to serve the best interests of their local residents, to raise their concerns, to tackle the local issues that were affecting people’s lives, and to vote in the key decisions that affect the whole of the borough, deserves to be recognised.

“Each of these served their local electorate for at least three terms and I am delighted to see them honoured in this way. Once again wish them all the best in their life after public service with St Edmundsbury.”

A vote of thanks was also given to the following councillors: Maureen Byrne, Anne Gower, the late Paul McManus, David Ray, Marion Rushbrook, Paul Simner and Dorothy Whittaker.

About the Author

Elaine C

Member since: 10th July 2012

Hi, welcome to The Best of Haverhill blog site. This is the place to come to find out about all the best businesses in Haverhill.

Popular Categories