The Seven Wonders of the Cotswolds....
26th June 2012
... Comments

The "seven wonders" of the Cotswolds have been revealed after a public vote.

Stroud Farmers' Market, The Rollright Stones, Westonbirt Arboretum and Cotswold limestone made the final list.

The "Seven Wonders of the Cotswolds" was compiled to celebrate 45 years of the region being designated an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Cleeve Hill and Common, the Cotswold Way National Trail and Woodchester Mansion and Park also made the final seven, voted by more than 500 people.

'Wonder walks'

A spokeswoman for the Cotswold Conservation Board, which led the search, said it had been a "fascinating campaign".

"The final list is a very interesting one which represents some of the Cotswolds' most distinctive features which we plan to use to create some new 'wonder walks' to help more people access and enjoy our beautiful Cotswolds landscape," she added.

Some 80 nominations were received from members of the public after the board began its search in December last year.

Ideas included historic sites, viewpoints, cultural features and towns and villages.

The Cotswolds is the second largest protected landscape in England after the Lake District National Park.

It covers 790 sq miles (2,038 sq km), stretching from Warwickshire and Worcestershire in the north, through Gloucestershire and Oxfordshire, down to Bath and Wiltshire in the south.

About the Author

Anne C

Member since: 28th June 2012

We live in the northern half of the Cotswolds near Chipping Norton, and have been here for 25 years - we love it, and we hope you do too!

Popular Categories