Chard Museum & Heritage Centre
  • Godworthy House,
    High Street, Chard,
    Somerset,
    TA20 1QB
Chard Museum first set-up in 1970 to exhibit the many interesting events & people what originate from Chard The pioneer of powered flight John Stringfellow. See his plane that flew in 1848 Home of James Gillingham who was an important maker of artificial limbs, are exhibited. The Birthplace of Britain's first Cabinet Minister .You can listen to the voice of Margaret Bondfield The second world war section attracts much interest with both young & old Colonel Gifford .Edwardian developer of X-Rays

This Museum is a registered charity[270186] & both the Trustees and workers are all unpaid volunteers.

The centre's exhibitions have been in-proved & expanded over recent years & several are considered to be of national importance

The  feature from WW1 & WW2 contains many memorabilia along with many facts about the steam railway & canal  both sadly disappeared 

The opening times are from 1st April until the 31st October ,so please plan your visit during these times. 

In addition to Monday to Friday from 10-30am-3-30pm the Museum is open on a Saturday from 11-2 pm

Future dates
  • Friday 23rd August 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Saturday 24th August 11:00am until 2:00pm
  • Monday 26th August 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Tuesday 27th August 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Wednesday 28th August 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Thursday 29th August 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Friday 30th August 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Saturday 31st August 11:00am until 2:00pm
  • Monday 2nd September 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Tuesday 3rd September 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Wednesday 4th September 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Thursday 5th September 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Friday 6th September 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Saturday 7th September 11:00am until 2:00pm
  • Monday 9th September 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Tuesday 10th September 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Wednesday 11th September 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Thursday 12th September 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Friday 13th September 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Saturday 14th September 11:00am until 2:00pm
  • Monday 16th September 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Tuesday 17th September 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Wednesday 18th September 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Thursday 19th September 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Friday 20th September 10:30am until 3:30pm
  • Saturday 21st September 11:00am until 2:00pm
More
* thebestof cannot be held responsible for any changes, amends or cancellations of an event