House of Needlework

4.3/5 based on 8 reviews
Latest Reviews
Jackie at House of Needlework in The Cop has gone above and beyond for me. I will be forever grateful to her for going out of her way to accommodate me, on a Sunday! She will continue to get pressies off me as I plan to continue to show my appreciation for her great kindness. Not only that, she has inspired me with her passion.
I visited this little shop today with my daughter and son. My daughter bought me a beautiful crewel embroidery kit as I haven't wanted to try to learn for ages. We received a friendly welcome from the owner and a lovely offer of help whenever I need it.
My Mum bought a kit for my daughter. She decided to check the kit to see if it was an appropriate level for her experience. On opening the kit she found that there were some parts missing and so took it back to the shop. She was told she couldn't have a refund as she didn't have cash in the shop and could have a credit note. My Mum didn't want a credit note but a refund as the item was faulty. The person in the shop actually demonstrated that there was no money in the till or in deed her purse! In the end, after my mum insisted she wasn't leaving the shop till she was recompensed, she was given a cheque. This cheque has now been returned to her by her bank having not been processed as stopped by the person who issued it!! She will be returning to the shop but am sure will not be setting foot in it again!!

Reply from Emma R:
THE HOUSE OF NEEDLEWORK REPLIED: "This information is factually correct. However, until I had cleared the sale of the kit with my assistant I was not prepared to refund cash for the offending article. However, whenever the customer wishes to visit the shop the cash refund is awaiting in an envelope for collection with a receipt for signature. The whole incident is unfortunate, but the customer was well aware that there is indeed a notice in the shop declining to give cash refunds and as she was also aware there was no cash available at the time of her visit. Yes, I stopped the cheque so that an explanation as above could be given to the customer. I repeat the cash refund is available for collection."
All the friendly expert help and guidance you could wish for is in this jewel of a place. If you can't find what you are looking for here, I don't think it exists.
I popped into the House of Needlework for a look around at the lovely kits and products in the shop. In a short space Mrs Williams had fired my enthusiasm to pick up embroidery again. Not only that, but she is available at any time for advice and instruction; her knowledge and skills are invaluable. I now get real enjoyment from sitting with my embroidery.
Mrs Williams is the best - so helpful, and knowledgeable. I rang with a request for a specific tapestry wool, colour and make. Not only did she know exactly what wool I was talking about but she knew the piece I was sewing even though it had come out of women's magazine some 10 or so years ago!!! The wool was sent immediately with a request for 3 first class stamps as postage and cost - "after you have finished stitching". Wonderful, I shall be in there when I am next in the area visiting grandchildren. Thank you so much.
A lovely shop on Wyle Cop. For all your needlework needs! Friendly, independent and you truly feel like a valued customer.
very heldful and friendly lady. Nothing is too much trouble. What a delight to browse through her stock.
Displaying page 1 of 1
Latest Reviews
Social Interaction