Welcome to the Castle Barge, Newark’s famous floating pub
25th May 2012
... Comments

The Castle Barge in Newark was formerly a Spillers grain barge named “Ril Elsie”, built in 1920, she carried over 200 tons (20 lorry loads) between Hull and Gainsborough.
Purchased for £2500 (scrap value) in 1979, she was converted to her present form and opened as a public house in December 1980. No walls to knock through, no extensions to build, our pub is unique and friendly, and we offer good food at reasonable prices from our galley. We open all day, every day, serving tea, coffee and traditional ales. Come on in and have a look!

Popular Categories