Bleak House
  • Blackwell’s Bookshop
    Broad Street
    OX1 3BQ
Creation are returning to Blackwell’s Bookshop, bringing Bleak House to life in Oxford’s iconic venue.

Deep in the Norrington Room, amongst three miles of bookshelves, where better to stage Dickens’ classic tale of inheritance, mystery, obsession and murder than the Law section of Oxford’s most famous shop?

Using live music, song and theatrical inventiveness, a company of five actors play multiple roles in interweaving worlds. From foggy London to the haunted Dedlock Manor in Lincolnshire and Bleak House, home to John Jarndyce, his young cousins Ada and Richard and Esther their orphaned housekeeper.

Esther does not know who she is by birth, just that it were better she had never been born. It’s only when her Godmother dies that she is sent to Bleak House and her life really begins.

Future dates
  • Tuesday 25th February 7:30pm until 10:00pm
  • Wednesday 26th February 7:30pm until 10:00pm
  • Thursday 27th February 7:30pm until 10:00pm
  • Friday 28th February 7:30pm until 10:00pm
  • Saturday 29th February 7:30pm until 10:00pm
  • Sunday 1st March 7:30pm until 10:00pm
  • Monday 2nd March 7:30pm until 10:00pm
  • Tuesday 3rd March 7:30pm until 10:00pm
  • Wednesday 4th March 7:30pm until 10:00pm
  • Thursday 5th March 7:30pm until 10:00pm
  • Friday 6th March 7:30pm until 10:00pm
  • Saturday 7th March 7:30pm until 10:00pm
More
* thebestof cannot be held responsible for any changes, amends or cancellations of an event