New season at Churchill Theatre
15th July 2013
... Comments

Churchill Theatre Bromley’s Summer/Autumn brochure is now available, featuring an eclectic variety of shows, from award-nominated musicals to moving plays, plus shows for younger audiences to enjoy.

The season opens with Save the Last Dance for Me (Tue 30 Jul – Sat 10 Aug) which features the hits of Doc Pomus & Mort Shuman including A Teenager in Love, Sweets for My Sweet and Viva Las Vegas. Olivier-award nominated musical Soul Sister (Mon 26 – Sat 31 Aug), which is inspired by the life and times of Ike and Tina Turner, and Blood Brothers (Tue 8 – Sat 12 Oct) will both visit the theatre.

Churchill Theatre Bromley is also thrilled that Seven Brides for Seven Brothers (Fri 13 – Sat 21 Sep) will open in Bromley before embarking on a national tour. This toe-tapping production stars Sam Attwater (Eastenders), last seen in Bromley as Brad in The Rocky Horror Show and Helena Blackman (How Do you Solve a Problem Like Maria?).

Musical fans will enjoy Three Phantoms (Wed 16 – Thu 17 Oct), which stars nine world class performers as they present a thrilling evening of musical theatre. This outstanding production features songs from Les Misérables, Chicago, Kiss Me Kate, Wicked and of course The Phantom of the Opera, to name but a few.

Following a sell-out season at Sadler’s Wells, Churchill Theatre Bromley is proud to announce that the global phenomenon West Side Story will visit for one week only (Tue 4 – Sat 8 Mar 2014). This spectacular production features Jerome Robbins’ original choreography along with a cast of over 30 and a 19 piece live orchestra.

There are even more musical treats in store throughout 2014 including Buddy – the Buddy Holly Story (Tue 28 Jan – Sat 1 Feb) and Tonight’s the Night – The Rod Stewart Musical (Mon 14 – Sat 19 Apr).

Andrew Lloyd Webber’s family musical Joseph and the Amazing Technicolored Dreamcoat (Tue 11 – Sat 15 Feb) retells the biblical story of Joseph, his eleven brothers and the coat of many colours.

Starting its National Tour in Bromley will be Happy Days (Mon 13 – Sat 18 Jan), a new musical based on the hit TV series. Written by Garry Marshall, the creator of the TV series, with music by Oscar-winning Songwriter Paul Williams (Bugsy Malone) and starring Heidi Range (Sugababes), Happy Days is a hilarious feel-good musical.

For those who prefer some drama in their lives there is plenty for audiences to enjoy. Agatha Christie’s The Mousetrap (Mon 23 – Sat 28 Sep) celebrates its 60th Anniversary by going on tour for the first time, giving audiences a one in a lifetime opportunity to see this masterpiece.

Claire Sweeney and John Thomson will star in John Godber’s bittersweet comedy September in the Rain (Mon 28 Oct – Sat 2 Nov). Looking towards next year, the moving and compelling drama Kindertransport (Wed 22 – Sat 25 Jan) will mark the 75th anniversary of the Kindertransport, where nearly 10,000 children were transported out of Germany and Austria before the outbreak of World War II.

Following triumphant UK and international appearances on stage and screen the Balletboyz® (Tue 19 Nov) will now be appearing on the Bromley stage. This phenomenally popular company, featuring 10 exceptional dancers, present an exhilarating evening of exciting and explosive dance.

The Russian State Ballet of Siberia (Thu 20 – Sat 22 Mar) will also make their return with three sensational ballets, Giselle, Sleeping Beauty and Swan Lake.

Churchill Theatre Bromley are also delighted to be hosting the Shakespeare Schools Festival (Mon 14 – Tue 15 Oct), which works with 1000 secondary, primary and special schools all over the UK. Each night four different schools will perform four abridged Shakespeare plays, giving theatregoers the opportunity to support the achievements of their local school.

There are also productions especially for younger audiences. Dora the Explorer Live! Search for the City of Lost Toys (Mon 12 – Wed 14 Aug) presents a two act, song and dance spectacular and the creators of The Gruffalo present the Olivier-award nominated production Room on the Broom (Wed 6 – Sat 9 Nov).

This year’s annual pantomime, Cinderella (Fri 29 Nov – Sun 5 Jan), continues Churchill Theatre Bromley’s tradition of staging a magical and festive production, suitable for the whole family.

Taking to the stage will be Dancing on Ice finalist and Eastenders star Matt Lapinskas as Prince Charming. Joining Matt will be Nickelodeon presenter Anna Williamson starring in the title role and Andrew Agnew (Balamory) returns as Buttons, following his critically acclaimed turn in last year’s pantomime Peter Pan.

As always, the theatre will be home to a range of productions which will be staged at the theatre for limited period only.

There is an exciting variety of music productions including, That’ll Be The Day (Sat 17 Aug), Joe Longthorne (Sat 7 Sep), Let’s Hang On (Thu 3 Oct), Roy Orbison & Friends (Fri 4 Oct), Soweto Gospel Choir (Sun 17 Nov) and The Magic of Motown (Fri 28 Feb).

There are plenty of laughs in store with comedy from Sandi Toksvig (Sun 13 Oct), 51 Shades of Maggie (Tue 22 - Wed 23 Oct), Ha Ha Holmes! And the Hound of the Baskervilles (Sun 3 Nov) and The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Radio Show Live! (Fri 22 – Sat 23 Nov).

Plus with An Evening of Burlesque (Sat 5 Oct), The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged) (Sun 6 Oct), Sally Morgan (Mon 18 Nov) and Ready Steady Cook Live! (Sun 27 Oct), all taking to the stage, there is something for everyone this season at Churchill Theatre Bromley.

Tickets for all shows are available by calling Ticket Sales on 0844 8717 620 (bkg fee), online at (bkg fee) or at the Box Office (no bkg fee).

Popular Categories