Gallery
Portrait of Samuel Johnson by Sir Joshua Reynolds Comes Home to Lichfield
  • 19A The Close
    Lichfield
    Staffs
    WS13 7LD
A portrait of the famous son of Lichfield, Samuel Johnson painted by Sir Joshua Reynolds is being displayed in Lichfield Cathedral as part of a major National Portrait Gallery project.

The COMING HOME project sees 50 portraits of iconic individuals from the national Collection traveling to the towns and cities most closely associated with their subjects.

Johnson’s portrait will be taking pride of place in Lichfield Cathedral's Chapter House alongside a selection of notable books from the Cathedral library and a painting of Samuel Johnson visiting the Cathedral on loan from the Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum.

The exhibition at Lichfield Cathedral will be open to the public from 14th September 2019 – 2nd  January 2020.

 

Future dates
  • Thursday 14th November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Friday 15th November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Saturday 16th November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Sunday 17th November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Monday 18th November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Tuesday 19th November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Wednesday 20th November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Thursday 21st November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Friday 22nd November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Saturday 23rd November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Sunday 24th November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Monday 25th November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Tuesday 26th November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Wednesday 27th November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Thursday 28th November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Friday 29th November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Saturday 30th November 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Sunday 1st December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Monday 2nd December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Tuesday 3rd December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Wednesday 4th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Thursday 5th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Friday 6th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Saturday 7th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Sunday 8th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Monday 9th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Tuesday 10th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Wednesday 11th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Thursday 12th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Friday 13th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Saturday 14th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Sunday 15th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Monday 16th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Tuesday 17th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Wednesday 18th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Thursday 19th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Friday 20th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Saturday 21st December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Sunday 22nd December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Monday 23rd December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Tuesday 24th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Wednesday 25th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Thursday 26th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Friday 27th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Saturday 28th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Sunday 29th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Monday 30th December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Tuesday 31st December 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Wednesday 1st January 9:30am until 5:00pm
  • Thursday 2nd January 9:30am until 5:00pm
More
* thebestof cannot be held responsible for any changes, amends or cancellations of an event