‘Uncommon Power’: Lucy and Catherine Madox Brown
  • Watts Gallery - Artists' Village
    Down Lane
    Compton
    Gu3 1DQ
Half-sisters. Mothers. Daughters. Artists. Meet two creative women who grew up at the heart of the Pre-Raphaelite world.

Uncommon Power: Lucy and Catherine Madox Brown spotlights the work of two creative women who grew up at the heart of the Pre-Raphaelite world. Commonly referred to as the daughters of the British painter Ford Madox Brown, both Lucy Rossetti (1843-1894) and Catherine Hueffer (1850-1927) were talented, professional artists in their own right.

In 1876, both Rossetti and Hueffer featured in Ellen Clayton’s English Female Artists, a two-volume ‘roll call of honourable names’ and artist biographies. Despite this, they remain relatively unknown today. The objective of this pivotal exhibition is to shine a light on these sister-artists, and to call for the critical attention that their work merits, for the first time, explore their lives, art and feminist legacies.

Uncommon Power: Lucy and Catherine Madox Brown is co-curated by Dr Ruth Brimacombe, independent art historian and former Collections Curator (19th Century) at the National Portrait Gallery, London. 

Image: Catherine Hueffer, At the Opera, 1869, Watercolour and pencil, heightened with white, on paper, Private Collection

Future dates
  • Sunday 23rd January
  • Thursday 27th January
  • Friday 28th January
  • Saturday 29th January
  • Sunday 30th January
  • Monday 31st January
  • Tuesday 1st February
  • Wednesday 2nd February
  • Thursday 3rd February
  • Friday 4th February
  • Saturday 5th February
  • Sunday 6th February
  • Monday 7th February
  • Tuesday 8th February
  • Wednesday 9th February
  • Thursday 10th February
  • Friday 11th February
  • Saturday 12th February
  • Sunday 13th February
  • Monday 14th February
  • Tuesday 15th February
  • Wednesday 16th February
  • Thursday 17th February
  • Friday 18th February
  • Saturday 19th February
  • Sunday 20th February
More
Social Interaction
* thebestof cannot be held responsible for any changes, amends or cancellations of an event