Herm Island

5/5 based on 396 reviews
Latest Reviews
I just love staying over in Herm Island. It's absolutely great in the summer.

Reply from Herm Island:
Thanks so much for your comments. We're delighted that you enjoy staying on Herm, and hope you're able to visit soon. Best regards Jonathan Watson Director of Hospitality Herm Island Ltd.
Thinking of Herm takes me back to my childhood - spent every weekend there moored in the harbour on my dads boat. Free to roam the island and play in the rock pools for hours, brown as berries without a care in the world.bliss!

Reply from Herm Island:
Thank you for sharing your wonderful childhood memories of Herm. It hasn't changed a great deal over the years, and offers the same opportunities to children (of all ages!) today. Best regards Jonathan Watson Director of Hospitality Herm Island Ltd.
There is nowhere better than Herm Island - a beautiful place, just absolute paradise.

Reply from Herm Island:
Thank you so much for your thoughts - we are so pleased that you love the Island as much as we do. Best regards Jonathan Watson Director of Hospitality Herm Island Ltd.
As soon as I set foot on the Island, my shoulders relax and I get a real 'flip flop swagger.' There really is no place like it, just to chill, rewind and recharge the batteries. Even in October when we were lucky enough to moor off Belvoir Bay and dinghy ashore, we could have been in the Caribbean.

Reply from Herm Island:
"Flip flop swagger" Forgive us if we use this phrase in the future - we think its marvellous! Thank you so much for such positive comments about Herm. Best regards Jonathan Watson Director of Hospitality Herm Island Ltd.
Go to Herm for an afternoon. & you feel as if you've been away for weeks, total bliss!

Reply from Herm Island:
It's great to hear that Herm has such a positive effect during your visits. Please do come back for more relaxation! Best regards Jonathan Watson Director of Hospitality Herm Island Ltd.
Relax and read the papers looking out towards Guernsey knowing you have time to enjoy and relax. Superb food and friendly staff.

Reply from Herm Island:
Thank you so much for your comments - we're delighted that you are able to switch off and enjoy the hospitality of the Island. We hope to welcome you ashore soon. Best regards Jonathan Watson Director of Hospitality Herm Island Ltd.
What we love most about Herm is the people we have met on this beautiful little island.

Reply from Herm Island:
We're delighted that you have met some wonderful people on the Island. We are blessed with lovely guests and visitors, but also staff too. Best regards Jonathan Watson Director of Hospitality Herm Island Ltd
Although improvements are made it feels like nothing changes in Herm. So rare in our fast changing world.

Reply from Herm Island:
Thank you for your review of Herm Island - we're always very careful to ensure that the improvements that we make to the Island are sympathetic and in keeping with the ambiance. we hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Best regards Jonathan Watson Director of Hospitality Herm Island
Since I lost my wife,I have been to Herm three times to stay with a ex work mate and his wife, It's so peaceful and unspoilt. Unfortunately my wife never saw it. What a pity she never got the chance of seeing another part of heaven!

Reply from Herm Island:
I'm sorry to hear that you weren't able to enjoy Herm with your wife, but delighted to hear that you have found the Island with friends. I hope that you are able to return for many more happy visits. Best regards Jonathan Watson Director of Hospitality Herm Island
Herm is an idyllic little island which I always associate with sunshine and peace. It's just the right size to wander around in a day, spending time stopping off at the various beaches and viewpoints. No traffic or bustle - a place to really get away from it all.

Reply from Herm Island:
Thank you so much for such a positive review - I hope we're able to welcome you soon for another dose of sunshine and peace. Best regards Jonathan Watson Director of Hospitality Herm Island
Herm Island is quite simply the most loved jewel in the Bailiwick's Crown.

Reply from Herm Island:
We're so happy to hear that you love the Island as much as we do! Best regards Jonathan Watson Director of Hospitality Herm Island
We try to get over to the White House Hotel a couple of times a year for special treats. Even though we only live in Guernsey, it can feel like you have travelled to the other side of the globe - it is such another world. Always relaxing and always a pleasure to visit The White House Hotel.

Reply from Herm Island:
It is lovely to hear that you return so often - we're so pleased that you enjoy your visits. Here's to looking forward to the 2014 season! Best regards Jonathan Watson Director of Hospitality Herm Island
Paradise! We are so lucky to have this little Island such a short boat trip away from Guernsey. The Island is so beautifully looked after and no cars makes it so special.

Reply from Herm Island:
We're delighted that you enjoy visiting the Island so much, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards Jonathan Watson Director of Hospitality Herm Island
I would recommend a visit to Herm Island. It is close to home but a world of paradise.

Reply from Herm Island:
We're delighted that you enjoy visiting our beautiful Island, and look forward to welcoming you ashore again soon.
Herm Island is a beautiful little gem in the Channel Islands and on the right day can be fabulous. The beaches are amazing, the scenery is stunning and is full of fun. This safe destination is the perfect place to go to get away and is for every age. I highly recommend Herm to anyone and everyone.

Reply from Herm Island:
Wow! thanks so much for sharing your thoughts on Herm Island. we're delighted that you enjoy visiting so much.
I would like to recommend The White House Hotel on Herm Island. We have been three times over the last couple of years and never fail to be amazed by the welcoming friendly staff and the excellent hotel facilities. We recently went on the gourmet weekend which I would highly recommend the food was out of this world and the wine choices for each course were exceptional! We have stayed in three different rooms each room being beautifully decorated and pristine clean, but the main feature of each room has to be the stunning view!
We had a wonderful stay in Harbour Cottage opposite the hotel. The cottage was really well appointed and recently refurbished with quality fixtures and fittings. We dined at the Ship restaurant where Sion, the hotel manager spent time explaining what must be the best wine list I have seen in years. The food (and wine) was superb and service exemplary. This is definitely a new Herm Island and the current management are making sure quality is not sacrificed for quantity. Everything was perfect, even the sun made an appearance!...we would not hesitate to recommend the White House to anyone, it was fantastic, thank you.
From the moment we arrived at the Trident booking office and found that our fare was included to the moment we left we felt that we were exceedingly well treated. I had just been in hospital and it was wonderful to have our cases taken from us and not having to touch them until they arrived in our room. The staff could not do enough to help us. Our room was fantastic with a wonderful view over the sea to Guernsey. It was really good not to have a television in the room and be able to spend time listening to the radio. Once the day visitors left it was absolute tranquillity. My wife and our friend were able to explore places we had not been before, we have been making day trips to Herm over the last thirty years while visiting Guernsey, while I took the flat paths. The gardens are splendid and I managed to explore the woodland walk which was beautiful. The breakfast and dinner were superb and we are grateful to Holly and Tom for looking after us at meal time. We only needed a snack between breakfast and dinner, however, we did indulge in the delicious cream team in front of the roaring fire one afternoon. Thank you so much for looking after us so well, the three day bluebell break is not long enough so we shall be adding an extra day next time.
We stayed at The White House recently and absolutely loved the whole experience. The staff welcome their guests with warmth and outstanding customer service. I love the fact that the rooms have no TV, clocks or phones – you can truly switch off! As soon as you step off the boat onto what is an award-winning garden of an island and enter the tranquillity of the White House, you literally feel all of life’s daily pressures slip from your mind and physically feel your shoulders lower themselves a good two inches. We stayed in Harbour Cottage – a separate one-bedroom dwelling with its own garden and lounge area. It was spacious and well equipped and has obviously been recently modernised, as have all the hotel rooms, with a fresh look and a spotless ensuite. The meals at the hotel were of a high quality and again, great service. Will definitely make a trip the The White House a regular treat from now on!
I had 20 family holidays on Herm between 1986 and 2001, but through buying a house in southern Spain, did not go back again until 2012. Herm is a tiny island 2 miles off Guernsey in the Channel Islands. It has 50 all-year-round residents swollen to four times that many during the tourist season. Those people use the White House Hotel, several rental cottages or the camp sites. It is difficult to separate the hotel from the island, because it is all one experience. All the rooms at The White Housel are good, but try to get into the main hotel rather than the annexes. The island is perfect in many respects, an abundance of wild flowers, cliff walks at one end, sandy beaches at the other; no cars, no phones, no TVs, just total switch-off. But there is a pub, The Mermaid, and the hotel has 44 rooms all to a good standard and super-friendly attitudes by all of the staff. The restaurant is really 5-star. The food is superb, but for those with simpler tastes there are several other options, the Ship (joined to the hotel) has its own menu and the Mermaid serves good pub grub. There is a tiny supermarket for those in self-catering; there is an equally tiny medieval church, even one of the world's tiniest prisons dating back to when the island was used mainly for granite quarrying and the workers may have needed to sleep off their hangovers somewhere. The island is steeped in history as well as being beautiful. Go there....
After a break of 6 years (during which we have ticked of some distant countries we wanted to visit) it was with great anticipation - and a little apprehension as to what might have changed - that we renewed our love affair with Herm Island and it's lovely hotel. Delighted to say that Hospitality Director Jonathan Watson and his team and all those working with the new island 'tenant' have ensured Herm's values and beauty have been maintained without exception. Speaking with the Hotel General Manager, Sion Dobson Jones, it is clear that quality, service and the personal touch really do still matter in this haven of peace.. This time we stayed in one of the annexe cottage rooms 'Foxglove' which has stunning views through both windows and which has been refurbished to a high standard. The quality and variety of food in the restaurant is excellent, as is the service and the views across the water to Guernsey. It is important to remember that the hotel is a 5 star establishment - although it does not carry this award due to it's adherence to those most relaxing qualities of not having a television and telephone around every corner. Herm Island and the hotel are unique, and a visitor will will be rewarded with welcome, service, quality and all they need for a most relaxing and well fed holiday. A search on youtube will reveal some excellent videos of Herm. Try one of the short break offers! Then come back for a week! Paul & Sue, Christchurch, Dorset. Room Tip: Ask for sea-facing, or if in an annexe cottage room ask for one in Foxglove or Mermaid.
Displaying page 16 of 16
8
Years
Latest Reviews
Latest News & Updates

HERM ISLAND UNVEILS A NEW WEBSITE
02/05/2017

Tranquil tourist hideaway Herm Island recently unveiled their brand new website, with lots of fantastic new photos showing the island's beauty, plus special offers, online accommodation booking, and a... Read article
thebestof Awards
Latest Events

ALE & CIDER FESTIVAL - THE MERMAID TAVERN
15/09/2020

There will be the usual great mix of local live music and plenty of delicious Mermaid food. See event