The Sheldon B&B

4.6/5 based on 374 reviews
Latest Reviews
Unfortunately my booking for a 4 night stay (24/12 - 28/12) was cancelled by the owner, due to a case of Covid-19 in the property. Obviously this means that their whole business will be shut down throughout Christmas and the New Year. It's such a shame when small, independent owners have to take such drastic action to keep everyone safe. I look forward to staying there in the future.
google.com
Source: google.com
Lovely, cozy, comfortable b+b. Staff are friendly and there are plenty of covid measures in place. Single room - well equipped, comfortable bed. Great location. Private on site parking! Good value for money. would recommend
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
Nice B&B with added benefit of off the road parking..Rooms clean and tidy with comfortable bed. Not so sure about the breakfast in a bag, understood CV issues, but felt that a tray could have been used ,with tea or coffee pot,cup and saucer,glass of orange juice, bowl for cereal, daughter had hot food that arrived Luke warm. Toast arrived in polythene bag ,soon learnt to take out straight away as it became wet in the bag.They state most of the packaging is recyclable,But that’s not an issue if you did as I have suggested.All that is required is to wash up. Otherwise give them a try.
thebestof.co.uk
Source: thebestof.co.uk

Reply from The Sheldon B&B:
Hi Chris, Part of our covid conditions to reopen was to have disposable items, do we are not cross contaminating us, our staff and indeed other guests by using reusable items. We have sourced veg-ware, bio or photo-degradable products to ensure we are not burdening our planet. Lots of thought and consideration has gone into our re-opening and we do clearly advertise what we are offering.
We stayed here for just one night. What a lovely hotel. Will definitely be my go to place when I come to Eastbourne. I had my elderly parents with me also. The rooms we had were clean and spacious and despite these COVID times and restrictions it was comfortable, clean and homely. Breakfast was safely delivered to our rooms and was fresh and of a really good standard. The best part was the proximity of the hotel to the beach and town. For Mum, who has limited mobility it was an easy walk to a restaurant in the evening and a town visit in the morning. So wonderful being so close to the sea. I enjoyed a sunrise stroll along the prom reliving happy memories of my youth there! We were very happy and impressed by how well they were coping with the restricted service. We met Judy, the owner, who was welcoming and clear about how we could have a safe stay. Highly recommended.
thebestof.co.uk
Source: thebestof.co.uk

Reply from The Sheldon B&B:
Thank you so much.
The Free Parking Is number one and the breakfast in a bag was fantastic, better than l thought it would be. Every thing was good, no negatives.
thebestof.co.uk
Source: thebestof.co.uk

Reply from The Sheldon B&B:
Thank you very much
Lovely place to stay. Excellent location. Staff really friendly and very accommodating. Very clean, good size rooms with plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits etc. Very COVID compliant, felt very safe. Loved the breakfast in a bag, very well thought out with a choice of hot breakfast rolls, cereals, fruit, yoghurt and flapjacks. The added benefit of off road private parking. Would definitely recommend. :D
thebestof.co.uk
Source: thebestof.co.uk

Reply from The Sheldon B&B:
Thank you so much.
The double suite room was spacious and perfect for a weekend break even in off season. Breakfast outside the room was a nice touch during COVID-19. However, the only thing resembling a spoon in the room was a stirring stick, and that was just one. Odd that such an oversight was made considering the teas and coffees provided. Spoilt what was otherwise a 5/5 room.
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
Lovely place to stay. Excellent location. Staff really friendly and very accommodating. Very clean, good size rooms with plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits etc. Very COVID compliant, felt very safe. Loved the breakfast in a bag, very well thought out with a choice of hot breakfast rolls, cereals, fruit, yoghurt and flapjacks. The added benefit of off road private parking. Would definitely recommend. :D
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
Good stay, nice and clean, friendly, good breakfast delivered to door
google.com
Source: google.com
Lovely big room and just a few mins walk to the sea.
thebestof.co.uk
Source: thebestof.co.uk
Lovely place, close to town and few mins to beach. Breakfast in bag was very nice, with lots of choice. Room nice and big comfortable bed. Spoke to a very pleasant lady when booking. Will def stay again 😊
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
I booked a double room with single occupancy because I hate being crammed in to a small room. I was not disappointed. A lovely large room which was great as I was trying to escape being stuck at home with the Covid outbreak so a real tonic to stay somewhere else, and not fell trapped in a small room.
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
Arrived to a lovely spacious room spotlessly clean. Great location near shops, restaurants and also near the beach. Breakfast delivered to room because of Covid-19. Very impressed with breakfast but would like times a bit later. Latest slot was 8.30-9am. Free parking is a great bonus for this property. No fridge in room but was provided with an ice bucket full of ice on request to keep drinks cool which was lovely. The green spot lights outside front of building in the dark serve as a great landmark to find b&b.
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
We stayed 2 nights in a large double room. For a b&b we were very pleased with room and instructions about our stay. Yes the breakfast was basic (previous reviews) but it clearly described the choices and everything was presented as written. We enjoyed it and the room,bed and cleanliness were very nice. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the husband helped us navigate out of the car park after being slightly hemmed in with other vehicles. We loved Eastbourne and plan to return again and book The Sheldon again. Very quiet and central to the beauty each and nice town.
google.com
Source: google.com
Friendly place covid safe
google.com
Source: google.com
Stayed one night and loved it, also had free parking. Friendly staff and nice breakfast. Will definitely stay there again. Great location and some great restaurants nearby. Nice walk along the promenade.
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
We found the hotel mediocre, given the high price. There are Covid restrictions in place which means a replacement breakfast is in place. However this breakfast was awful and left outside the room without a knock to let us know it had arrived. Nothing fresh; milk and orange juice warm. Toast cold. Had to go out for a decent coffee and did not order breakfast on second night of stay. The welcome was brusque. I accept that there are rules in place but under these circumstances customer service needs acceleration not hostility. Getting into the car park is tricky. Very narrow entrance. One inch either side of wing mirrors. The room was ok. Accommodated a double bed and a double sofa bed for the kids. But no fan in the very high temperatures. I wouldn’t stay again.
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
Worst experience during our stay.
thebestof.co.uk
Source: thebestof.co.uk

Reply from The Sheldon B&B:
Your problems began when you decided to not hand your key back. We had other guests booked in the room and you were unwilling to leave at check-out. You stated you "did not know we declined your request", then your group proceeded to take a shower , we had booking.com call you and as a last resort we called the police, particularly when you started accusing us of racism. The police and booking.com have reviewed all CCTV footage and cleared us of any wrong doing. You should be utterly ashamed of your behaviour and not only have you been flagged on booking.com, but Guestchek too, will will affect your ability to book internationally in the future.
Last visited for 3 nights in Dec 19 2 nights this time Friendly hosts and good rooms Very clean. Big car park and location excellent
google.com
Source: google.com
I just love coming to stay here. Such a friendly bunch feels like a home away from home as I work down here during the week!
thebestof.co.uk
Source: thebestof.co.uk

Reply from The Sheldon B&B:
Thank you !
Very nice place to stay.
google.com
Source: google.com
Judith and her team were an absolute delight from start to finish. The hotel is perfectly placed on the right side of town. Access to the centre and prom are equidistant. We have fairly particular standards and these were met with aplomb. Will definitely be back again.
tripadvisor.co.uk
Source: tripadvisor.co.uk
Really good nights sleep staff were helpful and the breakfast was good to. I'll be back again
google.com
Source: google.com
Really lovely guest house, very clean and the hosts are very friendly. Good strong wifi.
google.com
Source: google.com
Always so welcoming and sociable nothing is too much trouble.
google.com
Source: google.com
Displaying page 1 of 15
Latest Reviews
Latest News & Updates

Eastbourne B&B Wins 2020 Tripadvisor Travelers’ Choice Award
05/08/2020

The Sheldon B&B Recognized Among Best in Eastbourne, East Sussex, Based on Outstanding 2020 Traveler Reviews Read article
Accreditations