Sign In/Up Search Sections

Bringing trusted Woodbridge businesses and the community together

about us

media-image

For high quality home furnishings, you should visit Barretts of Woodbridge - a reputable family run store that has been in Woodbridge for over forty years.

<?xml version="1.0"?>


Barretts of Woodbridge

 

for Quality Home Furnishings

in Woodbridge

 

 

Barretts of Woodbridge is an independent and family run department store specialising in high quality home furnishings.

 

Established in 1969 by Jack and Ann Barrett, this lovely shop is now in the hands of their daughter, Jill, who maintains a warm and expert service to all customers.

 

For good value, great choice, and exceptional customer service, please call in today.

 

Opening Times:

 

Monday to Friday: 9.00am to 5.30pm

Saturday: 9:00am to 5:00pm

Sunday: Closed

 

Recommended by The Best of Woodbridge

 


 

Our Products

 

As members of the Association of Independent Stores (AIS), we have the buying power to match large national stores. Our individual buyers for each department ensure that we continually introduce wonderful new product ranges and collections.

 

Our beautiful, personally selected products include:

 

  • Bed linen (Peter Reed, Bedeck, Orla Kiely, Cath Kidston, Sanderson, Kirstie Allsop)
  • Duvets & pillows (Dunlopillo, Fine Bedding Company, Surreydown)
  • Bedspreads & quilts (Waltons, Christy, Bedeck)
  • Towels (Christy, Orla Kiely)
  • Homeware & Gifts (Peggy Wilkins, Art Marketing, Dora Designs)
  • Carpets & floor coverings (Alternative Flooring, Corma, Westex, Whitestone Weavers)
  • Rugs - hand knotted & made to order wool, silk and vegestable dyed
  • Made to measure curtains and blinds (Style, Richard Barrie), Curtain Express
  • Fabric (Sanderson, Linwood, Jane Churchill, Harlequin, Swaffer)
  • Beds and Mattresses (Hypnos, Staples, Myers)
  • Bedroom Furniture and Headboards (Alstons, Corndel, Stuart Jones, Cotswold Caners)
  • Dining Room Furniture (Neptune, Corndel, Woodpecker)
  • Sofas & Armchairs (Parker Knoll, Alstons, Mark Webster)
  • Recliners (Celebrity, Relaxateeze)
  • Bespoke upholstery (Collins & Hayes, Covercraft)
  • Lighting (Danalight, Pavilion Rattan)
  • And much more!

 

If you're looking to enhance your home with beautiful carpets, curtains, dining room furniture, lighting or soft furnishings, please visit us today - our experienced and friendly staff can give you all of the advice and inspiration you need.

 


 

Services

 

In addition to offering such an extensive range of products, we also provide several really helpful services:

 

  • Free measuring and estimates for carpets and curtains
  • Free, no obligation approval service means you can take a rug, bedspread, or cushion home to co-ordinate colour and size before making a final decision
  • We will even deliver a sofa or chair to you to try before you buy!
  • Free, no obligation access check - make sure your new bed or sideboard fits before you make your purchase (within our trading area)
  • Professional assembly and fitting included in the price
  • Free delivery to Woodbridge and Ipswich

 


 

Why Choose Us?

 

There are many things that make Barretts of Woodbridge special, including:

 

  • We offer a warm and welcoming shopping atmosphere - it really is a lovely place to browse and shop;
  • We don't operate commission based selling, and whilst we do want your custom, there's no pressure selling at Barretts
  • We offer an extensive product range, and being independent means we decide what to stock, not 'head office';
  • Through our independent stores AIS membership, we can offer great value and great deals
  • FREE car parking (at the rear of the store off Brook St);
  • We back British manufacturers throughout the store e.g. all our beds and mattresses and most of our upholstery is made in Britain
  • Being in the heart of the town, we're helping to keep Woodbridge special, with its eclectic mix of individual shops, restaurants and pubs it's one of the 'destination shopping' venues in Suffolk
  • We're also at the heart of the community, supporting local charities such as 'Just 42' and 'Help for Heroes', and we are proud sponsors of the annual Woodbridge 10K race
  • Barretts is a family run, independent store which has been serving Woodbridge and East Suffolk for over 40 years.

 


 

Coming soon - our brand new re-furbished showroom, shop window, and curtain and fabric department! Don't forget - our friendly, expert service will never change...

 


 

Please mention The Best of Woodbridge when you visit Barretts of Woodbridge for Carpets, Curtains, Soft Furnishings, Beds and Bedding and all your home furnishing needs

latest reviews

In February 2012, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

Absolutely marvellous service and all delivered much quicker than expected. Thank you

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

Barretts provide a very good service and have very helpful staff.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

they have an excellent range of local and british made products, stylish, contemporary, traditional and quirky there is something for everyone at Barretts from small gifts to major furnishings. A real gem of a store. Most importantly the service is exceptional and personal, whether you are buying some pillows in the sale or a sofa, the staff take their time to help you with your purchase and make it a pleasuable experience to shop there. They are also very good value for money.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

I really enjoy coming to Barretts to shop. They provide excellent local and personal service.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

I love shopping in Barretts because they always have some really lovely things in the shop!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

Barretts have warm friendly staff, selling warm friendly furnishings! Always helpful.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

I love Barretts because of their varied choice and great value for money.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

I love Barretts because of their high quality service and excellent quality of product. They are brilliant.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

I have shopped at Barretts since I have moved to Woodbridge in 1976! The staff are always so helpful and friendly. My purchases are always of a high quality and they offer competitive prices.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2011, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

Service is excellent and always pleasant. Mrs M, Woodbridge

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2011, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

Helpful and willing, quick and careful. Excellent service Mrs S, Marlesford

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2011, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

With carpets, curtains and furniture we were given excellent service from all members of staff. Mr C, Grundisburgh

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2011, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

Very good service, pleasant and considerate and prompt delivery Mrs D

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2011, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

Barretts helped us choose, and then fitted, a beautiful stair runner and landing carpet. Helpful advice and flexible timing. Joanne M

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2011, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

Just a little 'Thank You' for the wonderful job you made hanging our blinds and curtains. I know it's easy for people to say they are just doing their job, but it's obvious you take pride in your work and the end result is always faultless. Hopefully we'll meet again in the new year when we redecorate our son's bedroom. Mrs T, Bedfield

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2011, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

We would like to give Barretts of Woodbridge a heartfelt thank you for their community-minded spirit in giving us a very generous reduction in costs when we purchased the fire resistant curtains and valances for our emergency door exits. The Hall is run by volunteers for the benefit of the community, and our only funding comes from the hire rates to cover major expenditures, so we truly appreciate Barretts generosity and support. Woodbridge Community Hall Committee

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2011, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

I bought one of your superb Memory Foam adjustable beds two months ago and I haven't had a bad back since! Miss B from Woodbridge

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2011, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

Your guys have made an excellent job fitting my new office carpet! Richard from Woodbridge

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2011, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

Added on behalf of Mrs & Mrs O’B from Brandeston We have just paid the balance on the second of the two carpets that we purchased from your company. We thought it worthwhile to let you know how pleased we both are with the two carpets. More importantly, we would just like to say how good it was to deal with you and how helpful you were, particularly when you encountered delivery problems with your supplier on the first carpet. In an age when people are quick to complain but perhaps not quite so quick to praise good service, we thought it fair that we should let you know what a positive experience it's been dealing with you. Our thanks, Mr & Mrs O'B May 2011

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2011, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

Added on behalf of Mrs & Mrs A from Romford We have purchased furniture, linens and curtains from Barretts and thought you would appreciate some ‘feed back’ regarding how pleased we were with our purchases and level of service we received from all Barretts employees we dealt with. We feel the following deserve special mention, Louis for the effort he went to sourcing numerous items of furniture from a variety of manufacturers, Clare for the patience, help and advice she gave not only with regard to the curtains but also arranging for the bed drape to be made up from heavy curtain material, the manufacture of a ‘made to measure’ duvet cover from a pair of sheets along with the sourcing of a vertical blind to our requirements. Also to David for the care he took fixing tracks, handing the blind and steaming and dressing curtains. Last but not least to your delivery staff, Ben and Jim, for the care and consideration they gave not only to our own furniture but also to the communal area

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2011, said about Barretts of Woodbridge

Added on behalf of Mrs C from Aldeburgh Thank you so much for your excellent attention and service fitting the carpets at my house. I am very grateful for the prompt service, not to mention the bargain offer. The fitters have made a first class job of laying the carpets, and Craig was most helpful in preparing the doors ready for the work. I am very pleased that it had been done, and very pleased with the results. Your Faithfully Mrs C October 2010

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful
  • Contact Us

    40 Thoroughfare
    Woodbridge
    Suffolk


    IP12 1AL
  • thebestof awards

    • Best loved Business (In Place) 2012
    • Best loved Business (In Category) 2012

Don't forget to mention thebestof when calling this business 01394 384300

not quite what you're looking for?

Alerts on This Page