Sign In/Up Search Sections

Showcasing thebestof Tewkesbury

My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

about us

media-image

My Great Grandfathers Restaurant. Fine dining in Tewkesbury. My Great Grandfathers is a popular and busy restaurant concentrating on fresh seasonal produce and good wholesome British cooking - with an exciting twist.

<?xml version="1.0"?>

My Great Grandfathers Restaurant


Positioned diagonally opposite the Abbey in the centre of Tewkesbury and located within a beautiful Tudor building, is My Great Grandfathers Restaurant.


If you are looking to eat out and have a penchant for good quality food, fine dining and great value, then My Great Grandfathers is the restaurant for you.


Run for 5 years by fully qualified Chef Mat Gabb and his wife Shiho, My Great Grandfathers is a popular and busy English restaurant concentrating on fresh seasonal produce and good wholesome British cooking - with an exciting twist.


Mat and Shiho will always ensure that you receive a friendly welcome. Visit the nearby Tewkesbury Abbey, the famous alleyways and historic buildings. Walk the Wars of the Roses Battle Trail, take a boat cruise.... and then relax and enjoy the fine food on offer in My Great Grandfathers Restaurant.


Better still; enjoy a meal before or after taking in a show at The Roses Theatre, or an event at Tewkesbury Abbey.

Mat and Shiho are always happy to flex their opening and closing times to accommodate your requirements although advanced booking of 48 hours is needed.


Using only trusted local suppliers, My Great Grandfathers Restaurant offers an exciting, diverse menu centred on the Roast of the Day, but also has old favourites like Steak and Kidney Hob Goblin Pie and Angus Beef through to a range of seafood, lighter grills and salads. Vegetarian options are also available.


Menus change now and again to take advantage of market availability and freshness. Home made puddings like Chef's freshly baked crumble and custard or Turkish delight and Ice Cream are becoming firm favourites.


To see our latest menus, please click here


For our wine list, please click here


 

Importantly, My Great Grandfathers recognise that individuals have differing dietary requirements, and for that reason are able to provide variations to their menu for those with


• Lactose, Gluten & Nut intolerances

Please ensure you provide at least 48 hours notice regarding any requests.

 

My Great Grandfathers Restaurant of Tewkesbury is proud to have been awarded with 4 out of 5 stars in
official local authority hygiene ratings.

 

With seating for 40 and full Disabled Access, My Great Grandfathers is the perfect venue for your family celebration, works do or evening out with friends.


Opening Hours:

 

  • Tuesday - Closed All Day
  • Monday - 12 to 2.30 & 6 to 10.30
  • Wednesday - 12 to 2.30 & 6 to 10.30
  • Thursday - 12 to 2.30 & 6 to 10.30
  • Friday - 12 to 2.30 & 6 to 10.30
  • Saturday - 6 to 10.30
  • Sunday - 12 to 2.30

 

Available outside these hours for party bookings


To book or for further information, please contact Mat or Shiho on 01684 869485. Links to My Great Grandfathers website and email are at the top right of this page.

 

 

Why not put My Great Grandfathers to the test...............after all the proof is in the pudding!

 

 

Please tell My Great Grandfathers Restaurant that you found them on thebestof Tewkesbury.

 

latest reviews

In August 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

Stayed in the area for a few days, what a find. The most amazing food, fresh delicious home made, and so beautifully presented. Ate on both Friday and Saturday evenings as they are closed on Sundays. Looking forward to another visit.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In May 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

Nice restaurant atmosphere, wonderful food and great service.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In May 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

My Great Grandfathers is run by a very special couple dedicated to make everyone that comes their restaurant feel special and very welcome, BRILLIANT FOOD!!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

You bring a new meaning to "confit of duck" - Thanks, John & Liz!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

Superb meal, very friendly staff. The only problem is when I finish, I am too full to have seconds! Makes Tewkesbury worth visiting more often!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

Good food, excellent service - warm atmosphere - recommended!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

Beautifully presented, piping hot and deliciously tasty. Well done, keep up "Grandfather's" Standards!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

Very nice food and sfficient, prompt service. My fiance particularly liked the artwork. We will recommend it to our friends

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

Excellent quality of food as usual. Superb presentation of each course and very attractive service. I particularly appreciate the unusual use of fruit in the salad accompaniments

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

Lovely relaxed atmosphere with delicious food cooked to perfection. A very special treat.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

From the simplest snack to the top of the menu, food is innovative, well presented by enthusiastic well trained staff. A fine asset to Tewkesbury & the UK

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

I have visited My Greatgrandfathers on a number of occasions and the steak just melts in your mouth - the staff are so friendly. This restaurand is a must to visit!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

I love this restaurant - nice atmosphere, the food is well prepared with nice flavours. May the taste continue. Thank you

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

Stand out starters, friendly service. Cosy surroundings - A MUST if you are visiting Tewkesbury

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

Great service, great food - thank you - we'll be back again!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

Fantastic food, great atmosphere - will come back and recommend to friends!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

Great food, atmosphere and service. Loved the pate - Will definately recommend

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

The best food and restaurant in the area by far - highly recommended!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

A very enjoyable meal in a friendly relaxed atmosphere - I think a good idea would be to add child portions to the menu

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

We enjoyed a lovely meal at My Great Grandfathers with some good service and a cosy fire in warm surroundings

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

Lovely soup (spiced parsnip) and sandwich lunch. If anything, the sandwich was too large for older people

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

Lovely Sunday lunch with friendly efficient service. Highly recommended

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

Our favourite restaurant. The food is always fantastic - will keep coming back for more!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

Brilliant evening couldn't fault it. I can't remember when I have had better. Great service, fantastic food. A1 - thank you

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about My Great Grandfathers Restaurant

AWESOME! Brilliant! Amazing! The best fine dining experience in Tewkesbury. Would come again x Sooooo full!! Thank you - we will be back!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful
  • Contact Us

    My Great Grandfather's Restaurant,
    84-85, Church Street,
    Tewkesbury,
    Gloucestershire.



    GL20 5RX
    T: 01684 292687
    M: 07791187909
  • thebestof awards

    • Best loved Business (Top 100) 2011
    • Best loved Business (In Place) 2011
    • Best loved Business (In Place) 2010
    • Best loved Business (Top 100) 2010

Don't forget to mention thebestof when calling this business 01684 292687

not quite what you're looking for?

Alerts on This Page