Sign In/Up Search Sections
Purple Butterfly Light Green Butterfly Green Butterfly Pink Butterfly Light Green Butterfly Pink Butterfly East Chick East Chick East Chick Pink Butterfly Green Butterfly Light Green Butterfly Green Butterfly Purple Butterfly East Chick East Chick

about us

Established in 1989, Edward Moon'€™s Brasserie has earned a reputation as one of the finest English restaurants and brasseries in Stratford.

 

Known affectionately by its regulars as 'Moons', Edward Moon's Brasserie is a long-established, busy and bustling restaurant in the heart of Stratford.

 

Its food is inspired by the eponymous Edward Moon - an English eccentric and travelling chef who worked in the British colonial service in the early nineteen hundreds. Excited by the exotic ingredients he encountered whilst travelling the globe, he incorporated them into his dishes, recording his experience after his retirement in 1940 in a book entitled 'The Travelling Cook's Companion'.

 

It is this combination of classic and exotic ingredients and the warm, welcoming ambience from the front-of-house staff, led by Restaurant Manager, Jean-Luc Coleta that has made Moons a favourite eatery amongst locals and visitors alike.

 

Whether you want to enjoy a leisurely lunch with friends, romantic dinner, special celebration or pre-theatre meal, Moons looks forward to not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

 


 

Food

 

Offering a winning mix of traditional English dishes and contemporary British cuisine, Edward Moon's Brasserie uses fresh, seasonal, local produce and the chefs' skills and imagination to create a wide variety of delicious dishes:

 

  • Roasted shank of lamb, cooked to perfection
  • Beef Bourguignon with gratin potatoes and seasonal vegetables
  • The 'Duck Supper' - a succulent duck breast and crispy leg with rosemary jus, served with dauphinoise potatoes
  • Creme Brulee of the day

 

Moons also caters for the younger clientele, with 'Mr Moon's Little Menu' offering such delights as Barry's Best Banger, Little Moon's Sunday Roast and Mr Moon's Finest Fishcake.

 

A coeliac friendly menu is also available.

 


 

Pre-theatre dining

 

We all know that a night out at the theatre isn't complete without a little gastronomic treat!

 

Less than five minutes' walk away from The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Edward Moon's Brasserie is the perfect place to dine before or after (not after the evening shows) the performance, offering a varied menu that is priced at just £11.95 for two courses.

 

Dishes include:

 

  • Chorizo and black pudding
  • Banoffee pie

 


 

Make a reservation

 

Please call Edward Moon's Brasserie on 01789 267 069 to book a table or enquire about pre-theatre dining.

 

Opening hours

 

Moons is open seven days a week:

 

Monday to Thursday: 12pm until 2:30pm; 5pm until 9:30pm

Friday: 12pm until 2:30pm; 5pm until 10pm

Saturday: 12pm until 3pm; 5pm until 10pm

Sunday: 12pm until 3pm; 5pm until 9:00pm

 

 


 

Please remember to mention The Best of Stratford when contacting Edward Moon's Brasserie.

 

© The Best of Stratford

latest reviews

In March 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

What a Saturday night, we had booked a table for 4, we were greeted, escorted to our table and before we could get comfy our drinks were on the table along with the menu's. We ordered an if like magic 4 beautiful meals arrived, delivered by a host of waiters and waitresses. The hospitality was superb, the service was tip top and the meal, well, it was something to die for, We enjoyed every bit of the experience and yes we will go again. Well worth a visit.

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

A wonderfully warm and welcoming establishment that serves exquisite food with first rate service. We have travelled across three counties so that we could celebrate a special occasion at this outstanding restaurant.

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

An excellent meal and excellent service at Edward Moons in Stratford. Ten out of ten!

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

The service at Edward Moons is fantastic and the food is fantastic too xxx.

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Very friendly, efficient staff at Edward Moons. Lovely atmosphere. Great food.

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Excellent, as usual! Service is spot on - selection and quality is faultless.

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

I experienced first rate customer service at Edward Moons in Stratford. Thank you

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Lovely food and excellent service. A brilliant night at Edward Moons in Stratford.

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Live in Winchester. Love coming to Edward Moons when visiting Stratford. Last came Mother and 2 daughters for my 60th birthday. When they found I was coming again they were very envious. 1) Good food and 2) Lovely staff (couldn't be better!)

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Excellent food and service with a smile! We will definitely return. Many thanks.

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Lovely food, ambience and great value for money too at Edward Moons in Stratford.

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Served quickly. Cordial staff. Excellent cuisine. Thoroughly enjoyable meal.

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Excellent meal, excellent service, excellent waiter. Ten stars for Edward Moons.

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Service was perfect. Every course was amazing, duck cooked exactly as required. Stunned by the way all fresh vegetables were cooked. The hot profiteroles were the best I've tasted. All staff knew exactly every item on menu! Best meal in Stratford.

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Absolutely fabulous. Staff and food brilliant. See you on August 8th 2015!

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Fantastic atmosphere. Attentive and excellent service and incredible food. Highly recommend!

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

We visit Stratford upon Avon every year and always come here. It is always fantastic food and service. Will be back next year.

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Absolutely great as usual. Cannot fault anything. Extremely hard working staff. Happy Christmas to you all. We will be back in the new year!

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Very friendly atmosphere. Staff very knowledgeable of the menu regarding wheat and gluten. Would definitely come again.

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Brilliant service, just the right level of attentiveness and a lovely meal. Thank you.

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Excellent meal and good service at Edward Moons in Stratford. I will be back.

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Welcomed us in 30 minutes before closing, when most eateries in Stratford were already closed. Good service, excellent food, reasonable prices, nice decor and atmosphere.

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Excellent service. Fantastic fayre. Outstanding ambiance. A wonderful treat - thank you :)

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

Lovely food and wonderful service. I would highly recommend Edward Moons in Stratford.

Click if you found this review helpful

In December 2014, said about Edward Moon's Brasserie

5 Stars! Food excellent, service excellent. Daniel is a first class server. Would highly recommend and will be back soon.

Click if you found this review helpful
New chef for Edward Moon's Brasserie!

New chef for Edward Moon's Brasserie!

  • 29th January 2014
  • Author: Paul & Dawn W
  • 0 Comments

Edward Moon's Brasserie in Stratford upon Avon have a fantastic new chef!

read more »
A dining experience not to be missed!

A dining experience not to be missed!

  • 13th April 2012
  • Author: Paul & Dawn W
  • 0 Comments

One of Stratford upon Avon's restaurants is making a name for itself.

read more »
  • Contact Us

    9 Chapel Street
    Stratford upon Avon
    Warwickshire
    CV37 6EP
    T: 01789 267 069
  • find us here

  • offers

  • our videos

  • follow us

    This is a live stream from Twitter - not the voice of thebestof!
  • thebestof awards

    • Loved And Local (In Place) 2015
    • Loved And Local (Top 100) 2015
    • Loved And Local (In Category) 2014
    • Loved And Local (In Place) 2014
    • Best loved Business (In Category) 2013
    • Best loved Business (In Place) 2013
    • Best loved Business (Top 100) 2013

Don't forget to mention thebestof when calling this business 01789 267 069

not quite what you're looking for?

Alerts on This Page