Sign In/Up Search Sections

Bringing trusted Hitchin businesses and the community together

about us

Located in the heart of Hitchin on Bancroft, The Pilates Pod is Hitchin'€™s first dedicated Pilates Centre, committed to small class sizes and the most effective equipment, used with expert assistance. The Pilates Pod offers a selection of Pilates classes, Pilates tuition, fitness classes and exercise classes. Owner and experienced Pilates instructor, Michelle Smith also offers personal training and individual fitness training sessions.

The Pilates Pod brings a state of the art, brand new studio to the heart of Hitchin's town centre. With the latest, most effective equipment to hand, the classes and individual sessions are led by owner Michelle Smith and her team of experts.

Michelle's original interest in Pilates came when she was herself seriously injured and her developing passion for this form of exercise led her to become an instructor. Pilates emphasises the balanced development of the body through core strength, flexibility and endurance.

Now, as owner and main instructor at The Pilates Pod, Michelle is building on her experience as a trainer with individuals and with footballers at Watford, Luton and QPR and the England football squad. Michelle offers classes and individual training for men and women, as well as pregnancy and post-natal sessions.

Services available at The Pilates Pod include:

  • Beginners' 4 week intro courses
  • Small matwork classes - varying levels 
  • Pregnancy specific pilates classes 
  • 1:1 /1:2 personal training classes - using reformer and matwork
  • Referrals from medical practitioners
  • Specialist work for
    • Sporting professionals
    • post natal issues
    • Sculpt and tone boot camp 

 

Why choose The Pilates Pod?

The professionals behind The Pilates Pod will tailor their classes and courses to your needs, using the most up to date techniques and equipment. If now is the time for you to increase your fitness, flexibility and posture, then now is the time to contact The Pilates Pod.

The Pilates Pod offers individual consultations and will ensure that you gain the most benefits from engaging with Pilates in their modern studio.

Contact The Pilates Pod

Please call The Pilates Pod on 01462 338002 for further information about the treatments available and to organise a consultation.

Find out more at www.thepilatespod.co.uk or email info@thepilatespod.co.uk to arrange your first consultation with the team at The Pilates Pod.

~Photos by Julian Newman Turner~


 

Please remember to mentionThe Best of Hitchin when contacting The Pilates Pod - the first dedicated Pilates studio in Hitchin. Offering Pilates in Hitchin, Pilates in Stevenage, Pilates in Letchworth.

© The Best of Hitchin

 


latest reviews

In December 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

I really enjoyed this Pilates course and the small group size was really helpful.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In December 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The small class size makes it easy to follow, the instructor and everyone was nice and friendly

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In December 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

Very welcoming, and the size of the class really helps to build your confidence.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In December 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

I was a little nervous about joining a class based group for Pilates. However, everyone in the group was the exact same level - a complete beginner! This made me feel much more comfortable about being so new to Pilates and learning the basics. The instructor was really welcoming and friendly, and was able to flex the activity based on the needs of individuals. The small group sizes also meant the instructor was able to come round everyone and help us individually. I particularly enjoyed the equipment class and going forward will continue with a mix of mat and equipment classes. The flexibility of credits at the Pilates Pod enables me to flex when and what type of class I want to join - this is perfect for my busy schedule!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In October 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

A very Friendly, lovely studio, lots of individual attention and a very patient teacher!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The Pilates Pod has friendly staff and I received a lot of personal attention in class

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

Pascha was a great teacher and the studio is lovely, would definitely recommend

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The course had an excellent teacher who made every exercise understandable.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

It was great to try something new, fun and challenging all at the same time, Thanks!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The Pilates studio has a very warm and friendly team, who are very knowledgeable

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

Very friendly and helpful teachers at The Pilates Pod – thoroughly recommend

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2014, said about Over 60s Pilates Taster Class

A lovely teacher, very knowledable and helpful. I learnt a lot and now have the confidence to continue with Pilates

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The course was very enjoyable – I think this has helped my back flexibility and posture

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

Very professional, informed and friendly instruction in a quiet relaxed environment.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

From what little I knew of Pilates, my view was that it was for post pregnancy and pelvic floors and for women in their 60s and beyond….it was not something you did for core fitness or health. I was recommended from a friend on improving my bad back and reinforced by a surgeon who told me to continue with the Pilates to avoid an operation. It has helped me physically recover from back problems far faster. It’s all around core control, strength which will lead to, amongst other things, better posture and obviously better health.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

I thought Pilates was a form of yoga and had heard that it could be "quite boring" - I am glad to say that this is not the case. I suffer from lower back pain and after a particularly bad episode I went to see a back pain specialist who recommended that I take up Pilates to help strengthen my core and improve my posture so that I can address my long standing back pain issues. I am definitely seeing the benefit in dealing with my back pain and my posture is continually improving. The friendly atmosphere is great at The Pilates Pod and I find it more challenging than boring! Men- give it a try. It helps your core strength and may help you in other areas of your fitness.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

I attended the Pregnancy Pilates classes since January. I really enjoyed and felt the benefit of the pilates classes - thanks Marina!"

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

Feedback on The Pilates Pod - I have learnt the basics of breathing and use of equipment.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

A steady intro with lots of detail. I’ve learnt basic stretching and movement.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The Pilates Pod. A friendly, well equipped, clean studio and knowledgeable staff.

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The Pilates studio is very well equipped and a we got lots of individual attention.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The Studio is nice and clean, relaxing music, good humoured teacher who explained the theory well.

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In May 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

I’ve learnt how important it is to engage your whole body – the more you put in the more you get out. Lots of new techniques that I’ve never done and just because it isn’t sweaty it doesn’t mean you aren’t getting a workout. It was friendly teaching in a relaxed, clean and well equipped space at your own pace. Great for complete beginners to learn and gain confidence. The studio is also very accommodating if you don’t work the normal 9-5.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In May 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

I feel I learnt a lot! About my body, muscles and how to hold myself. It is a lovely studio, with a very nice trainer who is patient and helpful. .

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In May 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

I’ve learnt a basic start to Pilates which is very good for absolute beginners.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful
Special Christmas Eve Morning Class

Special Christmas Eve Morning Class

Christmas

Original 34 Pilates Mat Moves - Join us this Christmas Eve for a real treat!

Read more...

Festive Barre Style Pilates

Festive Barre Style Pilates

Christmas

Never done Barre Class? Well this is your chance! Love Barre class already, well this is the festive twist!

Read more...

Post Natal Pilates (bring the babies!)

Post Natal Pilates (bring the babies!)

General

Pregnancy takes a massive strain on the body. Post natal Pilates helps you get back into shape safely and effectively

Read more...

4 week Intro to Pilates Course

4 week Intro to Pilates Course

General

Where your Pilates journey starts. This is a 4 week set course for Beginners of Pilates to learn what it's all about and start on the Matwork programme.

Read more...

4 week Intro to Pilates Course

4 week Intro to Pilates Course

General

Where your Pilates journey starts. This is a 4 week set course for Beginners of Pilates to learn what it's all about and start on the Matwork programme.

Read more...

Get fit - get active (even in your lunch hour)

Get fit - get active (even in your lunch hour)

  • 3rd September 2014
  • Author: Hilary R
  • 0 Comments

New term: new timetable at The Pilates Pod

read more »
Hitchin Fit Festival

Hitchin Fit Festival

  • 25th June 2014
  • Author: Keith & Louise Yexley
  • 0 Comments

Some of you may or may not have heard about Hitchin’s first Fitness Festival that The Pilates Pod are organising for the Hitchin on 19th July in Bancroft Gardens....

read more »
Hurdles and Dreams

Hurdles and Dreams

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Author: michelle s
  • 0 Comments

Life is all about hurdles, but you just got to jump over them if you want to achieve your dreams

read more »
The great Pilates v Yoga debate

The great Pilates v Yoga debate

  • 12th November 2013
  • Author: michelle s
  • 0 Comments

In the red corner, we have Yoga....

read more »
#WOW! Local business woman recognised by Ann Summers Chief

#WOW! Local business woman recognised by Ann Summers Chief

  • 11th October 2013
  • Author: Keith & Louise Yexley
  • 0 Comments

The Pilates Pod Director, Michelle Smith added a new feather to her cap this week after being recognised by Ann Summers’ Chief Executive in her Twitter #WOW (Women on Wednesday) award.

read more »
Man Up!

Man Up!

  • 12th August 2013
  • Author: michelle s
  • 0 Comments

For most men, Pilates isn’t usually their first port of call when it comes to exercise choices.

read more »
How to get a reformer machine up the stairs

How to get a reformer machine up the stairs

  • 9th April 2013
  • Author: Michelle S
  • 0 Comments

Getting a reformer machine into the studio is not easy....

read more »
It’s a right pain in the back

It’s a right pain in the back

  • 20th January 2013
  • Author: Keith & Louise Yexley
  • 0 Comments

Every day I hear someone talking about their back pain as “I don’t know what I’ve done, I don’t remember doing anything specifically to cause it.” A visit to the docs, bit of rest, tons of painkillers and it’s still not gone away....

read more »
  • Contact Us

    107 Bancroft
    Hitchin
    Hertfordshire
    SG5 1NB
  • find us here

  • our videos

  • our videos

  • our videos

  • our videos

  • follow us

    This is a live stream from Twitter - not the voice of thebestof!
  • find us on facebook

  • thebestof awards

    • Loved And Local (In Category) 2014
    • Loved And Local (In Place) 2014
    • Loved And Local (Top 100) 2014
    • Best loved Business (In Category) 2013
    • Best loved Business (In Place) 2013

Don't forget to mention thebestof when calling this business 01462 338002

not quite what you're looking for?

Alerts on This Page