Sign In/Up Search Sections

Every business featured on thebestof has been recommended by local people

about us

Located in the heart of Hitchin on Bancroft, The Pilates Pod is Hitchin'€™s first dedicated Pilates Centre, committed to small class sizes and the most effective equipment, used with expert assistance. The Pilates Pod offers a selection of Pilates classes, Pilates tuition, fitness classes and exercise classes. Owner and experienced Pilates instructor, Michelle Smith also offers personal training and individual fitness training sessions.

The Pilates Pod brings a state of the art, brand new studio to the heart of Hitchin's town centre. With the latest, most effective equipment to hand, the classes and individual sessions are led by owner Michelle Smith and her team of experts.

Michelle's original interest in Pilates came when she was herself seriously injured and her developing passion for this form of exercise led her to become an instructor. Pilates emphasises the balanced development of the body through core strength, flexibility and endurance.

Now, as owner and main instructor at The Pilates Pod, Michelle is building on her experience as a trainer with individuals and with footballers at Watford, Luton and QPR and the England football squad. Michelle offers classes and individual training for men and women, as well as pregnancy and post-natal sessions.

Services available at The Pilates Pod include:

  • Beginners' 4 week intro courses
  • Small matwork classes - varying levels 
  • Pregnancy specific pilates classes 
  • 1:1 /1:2 personal training classes - using reformer and matwork
  • Referrals from medical practitioners
  • Specialist work for
    • Sporting professionals
    • post natal issues
    • Sculpt and tone boot camp 

 

Why choose The Pilates Pod?

The professionals behind The Pilates Pod will tailor their classes and courses to your needs, using the most up to date techniques and equipment. If now is the time for you to increase your fitness, flexibility and posture, then now is the time to contact The Pilates Pod.

The Pilates Pod offers individual consultations and will ensure that you gain the most benefits from engaging with Pilates in their modern studio.

Contact The Pilates Pod

Please call The Pilates Pod on 01462 338002 for further information about the treatments available and to organise a consultation.

Find out more at www.thepilatespod.co.uk or email info@thepilatespod.co.uk to arrange your first consultation with the team at The Pilates Pod.

~Photos by Julian Newman Turner~


 

Please remember to mentionThe Best of Hitchin when contacting The Pilates Pod - the first dedicated Pilates studio in Hitchin. Offering Pilates in Hitchin, Pilates in Stevenage, Pilates in Letchworth.

© The Best of Hitchin

 


latest reviews

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The intro is very thorough, with lots of detail which helps to make sure you are doing it correctly. I have learnt which muscles to use to engage the core.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

My posture has improved and I am now more aware of what I should be doing. The studio has very personal small intimate classes with a personal focus in group conditions.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

I found the course great to help build my strength and flexibility, I have osteoarthritis in my hips but Ellen was very informative and helpful. The studio is well equipped.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

I found the course to be pitched at the right level for a pure novice like me. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to start Pilates.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

Great introduction course that brought all of the elements together in an easy to understand way. It made me confident to continue on – Thank you!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

This is the first time I have exercised in years and the intro course was the perfect place to start. It has given me a real confidence boost and Ellen is a terrific teacher!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

A bright, relaxing studio with a friendly tutor who explained everything very well.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

I’ve learnt a variety of exercises to increase flexibility and strength especially in my back and abs, in a relaxed atmosphere with fellow novices!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The Pilates pod has friendly and approachable staff and the classes were really fun and interesting.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

At the Pilates Pod I have learnt how to feel, stretch and work my core muscles well.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The Instructor was excellent, very clear, knowledge able and seemed to know what each individual needed.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The course was Interesting, very informative, with a good teacher that made it fun. I’ve learnt how to breather and all about correct posture.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

Thank you so much for such excellent Pilates sessions which helped me prepare for my new baby and all the best to the other mums-to-be. I will be back for the post natal classes!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The Pilates pod has friendly and knowledgeable staff and the intro course was great revision for my Stott Pilates instructor exam.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

I found the studio to be well equipped and learnt some good basic stretches to aid as a foundation for further progress.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

It was really nice being part of a small group so you can have lots of attention. The Instructor was very good and explained things well.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

A fabulously and professionally run studio that has given me an amazing understanding & foundation to continue with Pilates.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The Pilates Pod has quiet well prepared classes for beginners and I feel I’ve had a good introduction to the basic principles of Pilates.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

I’ve learnt to breathe properly and use my pelvic floor and also what to avoid with the injuries I have, The studio is well equipped and I had lots of individual attention.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The Pilates Pod is excellent and I feel I’ve learnt to breathe properly and control my movements more.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

This was an excellent intro into Pilates covering all the basics and giving a taster of what is to come.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The Pilates Pod studio has very personable instructors and I have learnt how to stabilse my core and breathing.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

I’ve learnt how to breathe to make movements easier and the studio is well equipped and the staff lovely.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

• LOVE THE PILATES POD Just like a “pea in a pod” I do feel safe and well cared for! I love my sessions at the Pod and all the Pod people. On the Pod web site I love the information about all the different classes such as Mat, Barre, Reformer, One-on-one, Pregnancy and Post Natal, and Teens classes. I can browse sessions available in the daytime or evening on all seven days of the week. When I have chosen a session I love the easy-to-use booking system. And I love that I don’t have to pay an upfront membership fee. LOVE THE POD PEOPLE Michele and her team are dedicated to the individual needs of each of their clients. I first tried Pilates at The Pilates Pod due to back pain from gardening and lifting at work. The introduction course was explained well, gave me confidence and enthusiasm and an understanding of what we could aim for. After four weeks I was hooked on learning Pilates from the Pilates Pod People. I have learnt what my transverse, obliques and deep abdominals are and much more besides. Most important of all I have learnt how to work those muscles in the correct way. The instructors have given me great motivation to improve my core body strength and movement. After a few months I already have an improved posture and no back pain, thanks to the care of Ellen and Michelle. LOVE THE POD CLASSES VARIETY The small class size allows the tutor to give attention to each individual. We learn and practice various exercises in each class but I am never bored with the routine because no two classes are exactly the same. I leave each session tired but stronger and invigorated both in body and mind. I feel that the class fees are money well spent because of the great benefits I am receiving. I would really like to go everyday - and the Pod is open seven days a week. LOVE MY OPTION CHOICES I do one Mat class and one Barre class each week. The Barre class is mostly done standing with a pole. This has improved my balance and coordination. I have a long way to go before I can complete a class without loosing my balance but I am enjoying the journey to get there. In the Mat class we use toning balls and rollers and a ring. This is strengthening my core body muscles and improving my posture. I have also had a taster of a Reformer class which was great, so now maybe I will be taking three classes a week!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The Booking site is brilliant its lets me book my classes whenever I like, and having classes 7 days a week means I can come severally times a week and I do!!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful
The great Pilates v Yoga debate

The great Pilates v Yoga debate

  • 12th November 2013
  • Author: michelle s
  • 0 Comments

In the red corner, we have Yoga....

read more »
#WOW! Local business woman recognised by Ann Summers Chief

#WOW! Local business woman recognised by Ann Summers Chief

  • 11th October 2013
  • Author: Keith & Louise Yexley
  • 0 Comments

The Pilates Pod Director, Michelle Smith added a new feather to her cap this week after being recognised by Ann Summers’ Chief Executive in her Twitter #WOW (Women on Wednesday) award....

read more »
Man Up!

Man Up!

  • 12th August 2013
  • Author: michelle s
  • 0 Comments

For most men, Pilates isn’t usually their first port of call when it comes to exercise choices....

read more »
How to get a reformer machine up the stairs

How to get a reformer machine up the stairs

  • 9th April 2013
  • Author: Michelle S
  • 0 Comments

Getting a reformer machine into the studio is not easy....

read more »
It’s a right pain in the back

It’s a right pain in the back

  • 20th January 2013
  • Author: Keith & Louise Yexley
  • 0 Comments

Every day I hear someone talking about their back pain as “I don’t know what I’ve done, I don’t remember doing anything specifically to cause it....

read more »
  • Contact Us

    107 Bancroft
    Hitchin
    Hertfordshire
    SG5 1NB
  • find us here

  • our videos

  • our videos

  • our videos

  • our videos

  • follow us

    This is a live stream from Twitter - not the voice of thebestof!
    ThePilatesPod: Motivational Monday: whether you're feeling shattered from the marathon yesterday, been up all night with the... http://t.co/qVyzgRWxdi 257 hours ago
    ThePilatesPod: 3 years ago this April, after our son was a few months old, Ed & I (Michelle) decided over a chat in the garden... http://t.co/SHZvof5yDE 276 hours ago
    ThePilatesPod: Good luck #marathon runners. May the force of forest be with you! #VMLM2014 http://t.co/7ZGNpc2vSB 281 hours ago
    ThePilatesPod: 1/2 hour 1:1's. Buy 4 for £100 to use in April- save £38! Selected time Wed 6.30pm, Mon 5-7pm, Sun 1.15pm, Tues... http://t.co/QSxNyU0LC8 282 hours ago
    ThePilatesPod: When doing #oblique exercises, remember stabilise your scapulae & rotate at torso to bring shoulder across #noelbows http://t.co/8PZKTDKUL7 299 hours ago
  • find us on facebook

  • thebestof awards

    • Loved And Local (In Category) 2014
    • Loved And Local (In Place) 2014
    • Loved And Local (Top 100) 2014
    • Best loved Business (In Category) 2013
    • Best loved Business (In Place) 2013

Don't forget to mention thebestof when calling this business 01462 338002

not quite what you're looking for?

Alerts on This Page