Sign In/Up Search Sections
Purple Butterfly Light Green Butterfly Green Butterfly Pink Butterfly Light Green Butterfly Pink Butterfly East Chick East Chick East Chick Pink Butterfly Green Butterfly Light Green Butterfly Green Butterfly Purple Butterfly East Chick East Chick

about us

Located in the heart of Hitchin on Bancroft, The Pilates Pod is Hitchin'€™s first dedicated Pilates Centre, committed to small class sizes and the most effective equipment, used with expert assistance. The Pilates Pod offers a selection of Pilates classes, Pilates tuition, fitness classes and exercise classes. Owner and experienced Pilates instructor, Michelle Smith also offers personal training and individual fitness training sessions.

The Pilates Pod brings a state of the art, brand new studio to the heart of Hitchin's town centre. With the latest, most effective equipment to hand, the classes and individual sessions are led by owner Michelle Smith and her team of experts.

Michelle's original interest in Pilates came when she was herself seriously injured and her developing passion for this form of exercise led her to become an instructor. Pilates emphasises the balanced development of the body through core strength, flexibility and endurance.

Now, as owner and main instructor at The Pilates Pod, Michelle is building on her experience as a trainer with individuals and with footballers at Watford, Luton and QPR and the England football squad. Michelle offers classes and individual training for men and women, as well as pregnancy and post-natal sessions.

Services available at The Pilates Pod include:

  • Beginners' 4 week intro courses
  • Small matwork classes - varying levels 
  • Pregnancy specific pilates classes 
  • 1:1 /1:2 personal training classes - using reformer and matwork
  • Referrals from medical practitioners
  • Specialist work for
    • Sporting professionals
    • post natal issues
    • Sculpt and tone boot camp 

 

Why choose The Pilates Pod?

The professionals behind The Pilates Pod will tailor their classes and courses to your needs, using the most up to date techniques and equipment. If now is the time for you to increase your fitness, flexibility and posture, then now is the time to contact The Pilates Pod.

The Pilates Pod offers individual consultations and will ensure that you gain the most benefits from engaging with Pilates in their modern studio.

Contact The Pilates Pod

Please call The Pilates Pod on 01462 338002 for further information about the treatments available and to organise a consultation.

Find out more at www.thepilatespod.co.uk or email info@thepilatespod.co.uk to arrange your first consultation with the team at The Pilates Pod.

~Photos by Julian Newman Turner~


 

Please remember to mentionThe Best of Hitchin when contacting The Pilates Pod - the first dedicated Pilates studio in Hitchin. Offering Pilates in Hitchin, Pilates in Stevenage, Pilates in Letchworth.

© The Best of Hitchin

 


latest reviews

In March 2015, said about The Pilates Pod

The Introduction to Pilates was excellent fun, the team are friendly and I really appreciate the flexibility the Pilates Pod offers.

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about The Pilates Pod

A good Introduction to Pilates – thank you! The team at the Pilates Pods are very friendly and the class was extremely enjoyable.

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about The Pilates Pod

The Pilates Pod is great – the teachers are brilliant, wish I had the time and money to do more

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about The Pilates Pod

The Introduction to Pilates at the Pilates Pod made me think about using muscles I never use, I now think a lot about my core when doing my other physical training

Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2015, said about The Pilates Pod

I was very happy with the Introduction to Pilates course, I am looking forward to joining classes at the Pilates Pod

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about The Pilates Pod

A very friendly atmosphere and a comfortable studio with an excellent tutor.

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about The Pilates Pod

Compared to other classes I have tried, it was friendly and easy-going. The Pilates Pod Studio is clean and bright. A Good experience. Very approachable staff.

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about The Pilates Pod

A very good Introduction to Pilates, clear instructions with friendly and helpful instructors.

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about The Pilates Pod

I was new to Pilates and I enjoyed the course. Felt it was well taught. The Pilates Pod Studio and Staff were very friendly.

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about The Pilates Pod

I have really enjoyed the Intro to Pilates course and the atmosphere at the Pilates Pod is fab and very friendly. I’m looking forward to continuing! Thank You!

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about The Pilates Pod

A great Introduction to Pilates, really friendly and very clear. Thank you!

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about The Pilates Pod

The Pilates Pod is a very welcoming group; I’ve loved the Intro to Pilates Course and am looking forward to putting it all into practice! I’ve progressed in 4 weeks from not being able to run 2 miles without hip pain to nearly 7 miles pain free. The Paris Marathon in April is no longer unobtainable. Thank You!

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about The Pilates Pod

A thoroughly enjoyable Introduction to Pilates. Definitely shown a good variety of techniques for all areas of the body that need improvement!

Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2015, said about The Pilates Pod

How do I love thee Pilates Pod. Like a starry starry Night. I gaze at Heavenly Bodies whose distance from Earth seems so infinite. Like an inter galactic traveller I follow the trail from Chubby Plod to Perfect Bod. You have such great plans for my grand remodelling and despite my moans and groans I get no Molly Coddling. With determination I bend and stretch to reach elastic perfection and when I leave I ignore the shop next door that sells lovely sticky chocolate confection. This is how I love thee Pilates Pod, I must not shudder at the thought of that reformer or dream of a pillow for my mat. All defeatist thoughts I must combat. I love thee Pilates Pod

Click if you found this review helpful

In January 2015, said about The Pilates Pod

I love The Pilates Pod! I've been coming to the Pod since October 2012. The classes are fantastic and challenging and everyone is so friendly. My boyfriend has just signed up for the beginners classes so it's a real workout for men and women alike!

Click if you found this review helpful

In December 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

I really enjoyed this Pilates course and the small group size was really helpful.

Click if you found this review helpful

In December 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The small class size makes it easy to follow, the instructor and everyone was nice and friendly

Click if you found this review helpful

In December 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

Very welcoming, and the size of the class really helps to build your confidence.

Click if you found this review helpful

In December 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

I was a little nervous about joining a class based group for Pilates. However, everyone in the group was the exact same level - a complete beginner! This made me feel much more comfortable about being so new to Pilates and learning the basics. The instructor was really welcoming and friendly, and was able to flex the activity based on the needs of individuals. The small group sizes also meant the instructor was able to come round everyone and help us individually. I particularly enjoyed the equipment class and going forward will continue with a mix of mat and equipment classes. The flexibility of credits at the Pilates Pod enables me to flex when and what type of class I want to join - this is perfect for my busy schedule!

Click if you found this review helpful

In October 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

A very Friendly, lovely studio, lots of individual attention and a very patient teacher!

Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The Pilates Pod has friendly staff and I received a lot of personal attention in class

Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

Pascha was a great teacher and the studio is lovely, would definitely recommend

Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The course had an excellent teacher who made every exercise understandable.

Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

It was great to try something new, fun and challenging all at the same time, Thanks!

Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2014, said about The Pilates Pod

The Pilates studio has a very warm and friendly team, who are very knowledgeable

Click if you found this review helpful
Beginners Intro to Pilates Course

Beginners Intro to Pilates Course

General

Tuesday 7-8pm 7th – 28th April 4 week course only £50 inc VAT. Max 8 per class

Read more...

Beginners Intro to Pilates Course

Beginners Intro to Pilates Course

General

Wednesday 8-9pm – 8th – 29th April, 4 week course only £50 inc VAT. Max 8 per class

Read more...

Post Natal & Babies Course - 4 Weeks £50

Post Natal & Babies Course - 4 Weeks £50

General

Monday 10:30 – 11:30 20th April – 18th May 2015 Pregnancy takes a massive strain on the body

Read more...

Special offers from Pilates Pod to help you get more supple in 2015

Special offers from Pilates Pod to help you get more supple in 2015

  • 12th January 2015
  • Author: Hilary R
  • 0 Comments

Kick-start your 2015 fitness with some great deals from Hitchin's very own Pilates Pod

read more »
Get fit - get active (even in your lunch hour)

Get fit - get active (even in your lunch hour)

  • 3rd September 2014
  • Author: Hilary R
  • 0 Comments

New term: new timetable at The Pilates Pod

read more »
Hitchin Fit Festival

Hitchin Fit Festival

  • 25th June 2014
  • Author: Keith & Louise Yexley
  • 0 Comments

Some of you may or may not have heard about Hitchin’s first Fitness Festival that The Pilates Pod are organising for the Hitchin on 19th July in Bancroft Gardens....

read more »
Hurdles and Dreams

Hurdles and Dreams

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Author: michelle s
  • 0 Comments

Life is all about hurdles, but you just got to jump over them if you want to achieve your dreams

read more »
The great Pilates v Yoga debate

The great Pilates v Yoga debate

  • 12th November 2013
  • Author: michelle s
  • 0 Comments

In the red corner, we have Yoga....

read more »
#WOW! Local business woman recognised by Ann Summers Chief

#WOW! Local business woman recognised by Ann Summers Chief

  • 11th October 2013
  • Author: Keith & Louise Yexley
  • 0 Comments

The Pilates Pod Director, Michelle Smith added a new feather to her cap this week after being recognised by Ann Summers’ Chief Executive in her Twitter #WOW (Women on Wednesday) award.

read more »
Man Up!

Man Up!

  • 12th August 2013
  • Author: michelle s
  • 0 Comments

For most men, Pilates isn’t usually their first port of call when it comes to exercise choices.

read more »
How to get a reformer machine up the stairs

How to get a reformer machine up the stairs

  • 9th April 2013
  • Author: Michelle S
  • 0 Comments

Getting a reformer machine into the studio is not easy....

read more »
It’s a right pain in the back

It’s a right pain in the back

  • 20th January 2013
  • Author: Keith & Louise Yexley
  • 0 Comments

Every day I hear someone talking about their back pain as “I don’t know what I’ve done, I don’t remember doing anything specifically to cause it.” A visit to the docs, bit of rest, tons of painkillers and it’s still not gone away....

read more »
  • Contact Us

    107 Bancroft
    Hitchin
    Hertfordshire
    SG5 1NB
  • find us here

  • offers

  • our videos

  • our videos

  • our videos

  • our videos

  • follow us

    This is a live stream from Twitter - not the voice of thebestof!
  • find us on facebook

  • thebestof awards

    • Loved And Local (In Category) 2014
    • Loved And Local (In Place) 2014
    • Loved And Local (Top 100) 2014
    • Best loved Business (In Category) 2013
    • Best loved Business (In Place) 2013

Don't forget to mention thebestof when calling this business 01462 338002

not quite what you're looking for?

Alerts on This Page