Sign In/Up Search Sections

about us

Are you looking for haberdashery and fabric shops in Guildford? Since 1992, Hansson of Guildford (Hansson Silks) has been supplying brides, bridal shops and dressmakers with stunning silks, French lace, embroidery and furnishing fabrics.

Hansson Silks is the name of choice for brides, designers and dressmakers who are searching for new and original fabrics and refuse to compromise on quality.

Situated on Woodbridge Road in Guildford, Hansson Silks (Hansson of Guildford) is a family run business that has been in operation for almost 20 years.

In that time, we have become one of the UK's leading suppliers of the highest quality silk fabrics, French laces and exclusive embroideries, supplying silks to the bridal, couture, fashion, soft furnishing and interiors markets.

We import hundreds of beautiful silks from Italy, China and India, as well as laces from France. And with a staff boasting over half a century's combined experience in dealing with both trade professionals and the public, Hansson Silks offers unrivalled expertise, value and customer service.

Stunning fabrics

From our showroom on Woodbridge Road, Hansson Silks stocks a huge selection of stunning fabrics, including:

  • Silk Fabric
  • Plain, Printed
  • Embroidered
  • Tulle
  • Organza
  • Raw Silk
  • French Lace Plain, Corded, Beaded, Chantilly, Guipure, Coloured, Trims, Edging, Borders

We also have images of some of our range on our website.

A name you can trust

Hansson Silks is proud to be the first wedding silk supplier to the public that has achieved 'Trading Standards Approved'status.

It is also a member of the Buy with Confidence Scheme and the Federation of Small Businesses (FSB).



Contact Us

Visitors are more than welcome to visit our showroom without an appointment and all samples and fabric orders are processed from stock held on-site.

You can find Hansson Silks at:

108 Woodbridge Road
Guildford
Surrey
GU1 4PY

We are open six days a week:

Mondays to Saturdays: 11am - 6pm (closed Sundays and Bank Holidays)

or call us on 01483 451625

 


Please remember to mention The Best of Guildford when contacting Hansson of Guildford.© The Best of Guildford

latest reviews

In July 2014, said about Hansson Silks

I just wanted to say how pleased I am with the beautiful silk dupion fabric and lining and for the first class service. Thank you for all your help with samples, ordering and prompt delivery, and I would have no hesitation to recommend Hansson Silks to others. Thanks again and kind regards.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2013, said about Hansson Silks

I have bought some organza with you some 14 years ago,when we were living in Woking. I found the old bill and could find you on internet, that was not so in 1999. We are now living in Holland and here it is very difficult to find these lovely thin silks. Looking forward to hearing from you.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2013, said about Hansson Silks

Dear Mohan and Shweta Order received.The material is beautiful.Many Thanks for your help. Best Wishes Glasgow@Colourmaster International

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2013, said about Hansson Silks

Wedding Fabric client 'Dear Mohan thank you for the lovely silk fabrics and the token of good will they came with. You and the rest of the staff have been very friendly and helpful. Its been very much appreciated. Kind Regards

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2013, said about Hansson Silks

Dear Mr Mohan Thank you so much for your very kind letter and the beautiful silk! ' Yours sincerely Roisin Burree (Somerset)

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2013, said about Hansson Silks

Hansson Silks - Thank you so much for your very kind letter and the beautiful silk! '

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2013, said about Hansson Silks

Dear Mohan and Shweta Order received.The material is beautiful.Many Thanks for your help.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2013, said about Hansson Silks

Thank you for the lovely silk fabrics and the token of good will they came with. You and the rest of the staff have been very friendly and helpful. Its been very much appreciated.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In November 2012, said about Hansson Silks

Its now been several years since I purchased silk fabrics from you and hope that you are still in existence and still have your excellent samples and and mail order service!' Hope you can help again.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In September 2012, said about Hansson Silks

Hi Aruna,The fabric is for a wedding dress, and the bride has fallen head over heels in love with it, so we will have to wait for it. Many Thanks

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In September 2012, said about Hansson Silks

Thanks so much, Shweta! It's always such a pleasure dealing with you. Thanks, as always, for your fast service and beautiful product!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In September 2012, said about Hansson Silks

I would like to thank you for sending the silk tulle to me so quickly following the receipt of my cheque. I am going for a wedding dress fitting on Saturday and was thrilled to be able to have the tulle in time!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In September 2012, said about Hansson Silks

Thank you! We picked it up from the post office Friday. It is beautiful. We have tucked it away in a closet, in a drawer so the kitty will not be tempted. It will be a lovely veil and I would like to thank you for being so attentive to our order. Thank you so much.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2011, said about Hansson Silks

Just wanted to share a couple of photos before we head off on our honeymoon. The dress was a dream. Many thanks again.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2011, said about Hansson Silks

Dear Mohan Many Thanks for the beuatiful swatches and order -I feel that I may soon have a client for them also the silk crepe and dupion silk. Congratulations on achieving 'Trading Standards Aprroved'' off course I always knew I could rely on your quality of serives. Kind Regards Maureen ,Beds

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2011, said about Hansson Silks

'It's here! In my hands! And it's so beautiful. Thank you' Heather Texas USA -April 2011

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2011, said about Hansson Silks

I wanted to write and thank you for all your help recently when I made a wedding dress for my friend - we spent a couple of hours at least enjoying your hospitality ... and patience, while Heather deliberated over the colour of her bridesmaids. The a few weeks before the wedding you were very prompt in sending extra fabric when she decided she wanted more fabric in the skirt! I thought you might like to see the finished product - I also enclose a photo of the bridesmaids - the silks looked absolutely beautiful in the sunshine when we went for photos on the beach. Thanks again ... Helen Eldridge

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2011, said about Hansson Silks

Thankyou both so very much for all your help. You put yourselves out beyond the call of duty! The bridesmaids looked fab. God bless you Wendy

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful
  • Contact Us

    108 Woodbridge Road
    Guildford
    Surrey
    GU1 4PY
  • find us here

Don't forget to mention thebestof when calling this business 01483 451625

not quite what you're looking for?

Alerts on This Page