Sign In/Up Search Sections

The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

about us

media-image media-image

The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant – your choice for a family restaurant here in the Forest of Dean

Welcome to The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant!

Head chef Peter Teague is the owner of this fantastic family restaurant â along with his  dedicated staff, they pride themselves on offering the best possible cuisine to suit all tastes and ages. All dishes on the childrens menu are homemade, using top quality seasonal local produce whenever possible. The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurants philosophy is to offer local food simply cooked.


What can you expect from this family restaurant?

⢠Welcoming atmosphere
⢠Child â Friendly
⢠Great family menu
⢠Vegetarian and gluten free choices
⢠Value for money
⢠Air conditioning

Accessability

Car parking is available at the rear of the building or in the free public car park adjacent to the Rugby Club, and the restaurant is fully accessible for all. The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant is a non-smoking, air-conditioned restaurant providing a welcoming, child-friendly atmosphere with value for money food and a wide selection of wines, beers and spirits.


Opening Times

Monday - Saturday

from 10.30am - 3.00pm for speciality coffees, snacks and lunches.

Wednesday - Saturday Evenings

open from 6.00pm for a full a la carte restaurant menu.

Sunday

from 12.00pm for traditional Sunday lunch.

We are also open 7 days a week for private functions. Please call 01594 844 210 to discuss.

Please mention thebestof Forest of Dean when contacting The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

Thank You!

> Restaurant â Family > Forest of Dean<

latest reviews

In February 2011, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

The service is excellent in the restaurant and the atmosphere is very friendly, but it is the food that makes this place stand out. The menu changes regularly and always has unusual dishes. If you give them notice and you have dietary requirement (other than veggie of course) they will create dishes especially for you, as they did for a friend of mine that is a coeliac.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

Great service, food and ambience and a really nice warm feeling when you walk in through the door. And.... those home made rolls and local butter, yum yum. Love it.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In January 2011, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

A party of 24 of us had our New Years Day meal hear and it was excellent. Great service, brilliant food, extremely good value for money - Brilliant!!!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

The Ugly Duckling serves such wonderful food - it is 'just to die for'!!. We never miss a visit whenever we are in the area. Looking forward to the next time. I. Thomas

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

The cheesy rolls!! Actually all the food is fab, and reasonably priced, but those lovely complimentary rolls are the little extra that makes it possibly my favourite restaurant ever...

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2009, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

The Pastoral Council of the Catholic Churches in the Forest of Dean would like to pass on their sincere thanks for the delicious food and the excellent service provided at their mid-summer dinner; bring on the Christmas Dinner!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2009, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

I had the opportunity to take my colleagues to The Ugly Duckling for an evening meal. We wanted to catch up on a few things and I was so impressed with the venue that we stayed all evening. The food was impeccable, well presented and delicious. Peter and his staff are a credit to both Lydney and The Forest Of Dean. For a truly super meal and night out, go there - you will not ne dissapointed.

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2009, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

Pleasant atmosphere, cheerful staff, wonderful food cooked to your liking with great presentation. All in all, highly recommended!!

3/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2009, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

THE UGLY DUCKLNG IS SIMPLY THE BEST RESTAURANT IN THE FOREST OF DEAN! , WITH A WONDERFULLY RELAXED ATMOSPHERE AND FIRST CLASS QUISINE. MY WIFE AND I HAVE EATEN IN SOME FANTASTIC RESTAURANTS AROUND THE WORLD AND ARE VERY FUSSY, AND WE THOUGHT THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE WAS FANTASTIC. THANKYOU, WE WILL BE BACK!

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2009, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

I cannot praise the Ugly Duckling more. the food is superb, with a varied, interesting menu & the staff are wonderful, everything is carried out with a smile. It is always a treat to eat at the Ugly Duckling

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In January 2009, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

Great food, great service.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In January 2009, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

We had a Christmas party at the Ugly Duckling and the food was simple marvellous. We also meet there every Tuesday for a business networking breakfast. The service and food are always really good. I would recommend them wholeheartedly.

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In January 2009, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

Good choice of menu, well cooked and nicely presented. We make a point of booking in each time we are in this part of the country well worth a visist.

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In January 2009, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

Very friendly people, always make you feel welcome. Reasonable prices, great products

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In January 2009, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

The food, the service, the atmosphere. A great place to enjoy fine food and wine without feeling you have to wear a dinner suit

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In December 2008, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

I arranged an event at the Ugly Duckling this weekend for 54 diners. Everything went very smoothly, everyone enjoyed their meal & the service was outstanding. 54 at once is not an easy task, we loved it & will be back again soon.

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In November 2008, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

The food here is delicious, good enough for a special occasion but priced reasonably enough that you can go regularly. A really nice venue for a big party or for dinner for two.

3/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In October 2008, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

Our family party of 12 adults, had just had a fun morning at "Go Ape" and had booked for a lunchtime meal ( not sure what time we would get there, but guessed not till 2pm!) after going on the internet to find a restaurant nearby. We were not disappointed....the food was superb, staff and service very good, and we felt it was incredibly reasonable, infact we queried if they had included our drinks! There was no problem accommodating us at quite a late time for lunch and our table was beautifully arranged and set for or arrival. Well done to all the staff....and chef !...the date pudding was the best we ever tasted !!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In October 2008, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

I was part of a party of 10 celebrating a Ruby Wedding anniversary on a Sunday lunchtime recently. The food was lovely, one of the best roasts Iʼve had in a restaurant for a long time. The service was good as well and the price reasonable. You canʼt ask for much more!

3/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In September 2008, said about The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant

This place is a must, tucked away in Swan Road in Lydney we had a great evening. The food was perfect, service 1st class and the overall thought was, cant wait to go again. Watch out for the pudding events!, 10 to choose from and certainly the best "Creme Brulee" ever tasted. I will recommend to all my friends too.

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful
  • Contact Us

    The Coach House
    Swan Road
    Lydney
    Gloucestershire
    GL15 5RU
    T: 01594 844 210
  • our audio

Don't forget to mention thebestof when calling this business 01594 844 210

not quite what you're looking for?

Alerts on This Page