Sign In/Up Search Sections

about us

media-image

The Royal Oak Whitecroft - Accommodation here in the Forest of Dean

<?xml version="1.0"?>

 

From tiny acorns grow mighty oaks, and fittingly, in the Royal Forest of Dean you will find a Royal Oak that provides bedrooms and a breakfast fit for a King. The new owner Dave Coulson has transformed the Royal Oak in Whitecroft and, for their efforts, been warmly welcomed by the locals.

 


 

Rooms with a view


If you are looking for warm beds and an excellent breakfast to accommodate you and your family or friends while visiting the picturesque Forest of Dean, the Royal Oak in Whitecroft has 3 double rooms and 1 twin waiting for you.

 



A breakfast like no other


A quick look through the guest book reveals Sarah's breakfasts are legendary. The bedrooms mostly equipped with en suite bathrooms, will not disappoint as all 4 have been freshly decorated, have free view TV and are prepared with the comfort of the guest in mind, down to the complimentary toothpaste and shower gel.

 


 


A very special place to stay


Combine the delightful location, very close to the main attractions of the Forest of Dean, with the relaxed bed and breakfast atmosphere and the high quality traditional pub food for delicious evening meals and you can see why the Royal Oak is the perfect home from home for your holiday. Please call them to check your dates and their availability.

 


 

Please mention the Best of Forest of Dean when contacting the Royal Oak.

 

Thank You!

 

> Accomodation > Forest of Dean <

latest reviews

In June 2012, said about The Royal Oak

Fancied a night away with hubby,so booked a room here and a table,realised it clashed with the England kick off so phoned and spoke with John the landlord who was more than happy to solve my dilemna by setting us up a still romantic candlelit table in the bar by the tv!From the moment we walked into this beautiful country pub we were given such a warm welcome,staff are very attentive,the food was excellent(i had to have pud too)!After dinner we relaxed with a drink or two infront of the roaring log fire,Our room was warm clean and a really comfy bed,with flexi breakfast times and catering for vegetarians John made our short but sweet stay really magic,would recommend to anyone,and will definately return ourselves :-)

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2012, said about The Royal Oak

Lovely meal! Food was delicious, very welcoming staff, with a really nice friendly atmosphere! Would definately go there again!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2012, said about The Royal Oak

Friendly welcoming staff. Lovely traditional pub setting. Great Sunday roast. Fantastic value for money. Will definitely visit there again.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about The Royal Oak

I always get a good freindly welcome and excellent service from the staff. Also it is excellent value money.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about The Royal Oak

A freindly pub, good landlord and staff. Best pub in the village.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about The Royal Oak

Good pub, good food and a good all round time had by everyone who visits.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about The Royal Oak

The landlord and his team are always very welcoming. The food is good and reasonably priced. Lots of space with lots of character. Always room to park.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about The Royal Oak

A typical country pub, nice atmosphere, freindly staff, clean, good selection of drinks and a good menu. Plus a real fire !.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about The Royal Oak

I love The Royal Oak because of the freindly atmosphere and the warm welcome.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about The Royal Oak

Everyone is so happy and helpful and caring. the atmosphere is so warm and welcoming, a pleasure to be here.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about The Royal Oak

Very welcoming pub with excellent bar staff who are freindly. The food is well priced.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about The Royal Oak

Everyone is so freindly, the atmosphere is great and you get a warm welcome.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about The Royal Oak

We were a table of eight and very one of us really enjoyed our meals.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In December 2011, said about The Royal Oak

Just returned from a lovely nights stay at The Royal Oak. We received a lovely welcome and Dave was so accommodating to fit in with our plans, he stayed up late for us to return from our trip out and welcomed us back and chatted despite the late time. Our room was a good size, warm and nicely furnished. The bed was so comfy we had the best night's sleep in a long time, so quiet and peaceful. Our breakfast was lovely and Dave had the log fire burning for us when we sat down. Excellent value and would love to have stayed longer. Hope to be back again soon.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In September 2011, said about The Royal Oak

David and Staff. Thank you so much for the excellent buffet you did for us on Sunday 11th Sept for Barbara's 80th birthday party. It was a lovely afternoon enjoyed by all. Please thank your staff for being so helpful and friendly.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In September 2011, said about The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak, nice homely pub with friendly staff and good food.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2011, said about The Royal Oak

A superb, well managed, pleasantly situated and atmospheric country pub with clean and comfortable rooms, superb food and very reasonable prices. We go as often as we can!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2011, said about The Royal Oak

Spokesperson for a walking group. Full marks for the meal and atmosphere. We have been before and will come again.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2011, said about The Royal Oak

Found this pub in the food & drinks Cotswolds Guide 2011. Travelled a long way, not dissapointed in any way. A very friendly welcome, food was of a high standard as was the service. Would always recommend this pub, we need more like it.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2011, said about The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak provide good food, good service and good portions.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2011, said about The Royal Oak

Warm and friendly staff, superb food and a fantastic atmosphere.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2011, said about The Royal Oak

Welcoming and attentive service, good log fire, good value food.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2011, said about The Royal Oak

Good food, nice place to eat and meet other friends for a chat.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2011, said about The Royal Oak

Homely comforts, attentive service, value for money, good ambience, clean and polite !

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2011, said about The Royal Oak

Polite service, lovely food at a good rate. We will recommend to others and return ourselves. We did not wait long for our food. Great desserts

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful
  • Contact Us

    The Royal Oak
    Whitecroft
    Gloucestershire
    GL154PG
  • thebestof awards

    • Best loved Business (In Place) 2011
    • Best loved Business (In Place) 2010

Don't forget to mention thebestof when calling this business 01594 562356

not quite what you're looking for?

Alerts on This Page