Sign In/Up Search Sections
######

about us

There are many Eastbourne hotels to choose from, so why choose the Afton Hotel? Apart from offering you a warm welcome and an efficient service, they have a fabulous location! And if you're looking for function rooms in central Eastbourne then check out what the Afton Hotel can offer. The Afton Hotel are one of the party venues in Eastbourne that really takes fun seriously.

The Afton Hotel prides itself on providing happy successful functions of any size and to suit any budget.

There is a large restaurant area on the lower ground floor with its own bar, dance floor and stage which has up-to-date sound and lighting systems. Coloured lights that are synchronized to music, a low ceiling and sympathetic furnishings all contribute to a fantastic atmosphere which is perfect for a dinner & dance, party or wedding reception.

A flexible venue to suit your function

On ground level, is a spacious and versatile lounge area which has its own large bar and sprung dance floor. Both the lower ground and ground floor areas can hold up to 150 guests. However, smaller, more intimate rooms can easily be created with the use of flexible and substantial sliding screens which blend in perfectly with the decor.

The Summerhouse also offers flexible use. With its drop down screen and projector, it's the perfect venue for meetings or small conferences. It can also be adapted for social use and has attractive lighting, its own small bar area and facilities. All our public areas are air conditioned and have free WI-FI hotspots.

Catering to your budget 

We offer a range of sit down menus or buffets to suit most tastes and budgets. Examples of these can be seen on our website, although we are always happy to discuss individual requirements and we can easily create a tailor made package if preferred. We also offer a very cost effective all-in-one package created specifically for wedding receptions. If the hotel food or drink is used, there is no charge for room hire and we offer reasonable rates for corkage.

Large or small events are welcome

Whether your function is modest and small, or lavish and large, we would always aim to exceed your expectations. We have the facilities as well as many years experience of making sure that any event goes smoothly and efficiently. The Afton Hotel takes fun seriously!

Call the Afton Hotel on 01323 733162 to discuss your requirents further.

latest reviews

In February 2014, said about Afton Hotel

Always a warm welcome from the staff at the Afton hotel where service is 1st class and professional with just the right dash of friendliness in the mix. Whether popping in for a quick coffee or attending a business meeting I am never disappointed.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2014, said about Afton Hotel

We recently attended a meeting held at the Afton Hotel. We immediately felt welcome and the atmosphere was very relaxed. The staff were friendly and very helpful, and we were impressed by the beautiful fresh flowers displayed which gave off a magnificent scent. I look forward to our next meeting at this venue.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In January 2014, said about Afton Hotel

Warm, welcoming reception. Lovely surroundings and great food. Meal delivered promptly and between courses very efficient. Staff friendly.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In January 2014, said about Afton Hotel

Over the last couple of years i have attended meetings functions also just pop in for a coffee with friends the Afton Hotel offers you so much plus its perfect location

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In December 2013, said about Afton Hotel

Having my Christmas party at the Afton Hotel and wanting to enjoy it with a few festive drinks I thought I would take advantage of staying overnight. I have used the Afton Hotel on many occasions for my events over the years but never had a need for staying over. After checking in I found my room which was nice enough. The wall art was a beautiful shot of the pier. I had a few hours before my guests were due to arrive so lay on the bed and watched some TV (a reasonable size TV with a simple enough remote). I have to say the bed was much more comfortable than I expected hence falling asleep and nearly missing my party! Whenever I travel I normally opt for a Premier Travel Inn but safely say that the bed I had at the Afton Hotel offered me just as good a night sleep (not aided by Alcohol at all) I know most of the staff well but they were just as friendly as always. Everything for the evening went smoothly and to time. Pleased to see that drinks were not expensive. When at an event earlier in the year (in Solihull) I was disappointed at being charged £5 a pint where drinks at the Afton Hotel are not the normal hefty mark up you can get at hotels.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2013, said about Afton Hotel

It's a bright and welcoming place with a friendly atmosphere. Such a lovely position opposite the pier and I even managed to park nearby.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2013, said about Afton Hotel

Visited for the first time, nice friendly welcome, clean comfortable bar area. Function room comfortable, sound system good, food good, overall a very nice venue.

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2013, said about Afton Hotel

I’ve attended a number of events at the Afton Hotel over the years and have always been impressed with the venue, staff and hospitality. The location is perfect, right by the seafront and pier and with plenty of on-street parking nearby. The bar and function rooms have proved ideal for a variety of activities including presentations, seminars, entertainment and networking over a drink or two. I have recommended the venue to various friends and contacts as ideal to meet all needs.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2013, said about Afton Hotel

a wonderful setting, friendly staff, close to the beach.just the best in eastbourne

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2013, said about Afton Hotel

I have now been involved with 2 functions at The Afton Hotel. I would recommend it as a venue for your function. It's so welcoming, very clean and well maintained. The staff are friendly and helpful, and very importantly it has air conditioning which adds so much to the enjoyment. Fab place!

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2013, said about Afton Hotel

A great network meeting at the Afton Hotel, friendly staff and plenty of space.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2013, said about Afton Hotel

Great customer service, welcoming and helpful. A great venue and a pleasure to work with.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In December 2012, said about Afton Hotel

I have had two meetings here now and I have been impressed on both occasions with the care and attention given to me as a visitor. I have to say their hot chocolates and complimentary biscuits are lovely!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about Afton Hotel

We have attended a few meetings at the Afton and have always found staff helpful and the food served has been very good.

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about Afton Hotel

A hotel which offer a 5 star service and is Open to non-residents and makes you feel welcome from the minute you walk in it is a great place just to pop in and meet up with friends for a coffee and chat, lunch or to spend an evening or to join in the many functions that they offer

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about Afton Hotel

Resident or not, the welcome and service from the team at the Afton Hotel always great and makes you want to come back time and time again. Then when you meet owners Marco and Cathy you understand why. If you've not visited the hotel then you are definitely missing out.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In October 2011, said about Afton Hotel

I've been to the Afton Hotel a couple of times for various meetings/networking events and have been pleasantly surprised by the friendly service, clean well maintained décor and atmosphere. Music and food was good and bar prices were very good. I usually expect hotel bar prices to be more expensive that pubs/clubs but this wasn't the case. I've yet to stay there as I live locally but I will definitely recommend them to friends and family.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In September 2011, said about Afton Hotel

Thank you to Marco and the team at the Afton Hotel. Once again when thebestof has called on you to host one of our events this time for our valued member awards evening you came through as always. I was pleased that the room was exactly as I requested, that the air con was on to keep guests comfortable and of course being on hand should I need anything. The slogan we take fun seriously is just perfect, thanks a million.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In September 2011, said about Afton Hotel

Marco and team hosted a 3 course fundraising dinner for +100 people, and did an outstanding job! The bar and waiting staff were friendly and very efficient, and the Management kept a watchful eye making sure everything ran smoothly all night. A great venue, fantastic food and good hospitality. Would recommend them for events without hesitation.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2011, said about Afton Hotel

We held my daughters wedding at the Afton Hotel on Saturday 25th June 2011 and I couldnt fault it. Fiona was excellent in the planning stages and the staff, food and venue on the day was fantastic. Some of our guests stayed over and were looked after very well. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Afton Hotel to anyone.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2011, said about Afton Hotel

Having never been to the Afton Hotel before, I was pleasantly impressed with our brief meeting at the Eastbourne Tweetup. I look forward to my next visit where I've been promised a tour, I now have somewhere to recommend to my friends coming down to stay.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2011, said about Afton Hotel

Recently when I decided to host a Tweetup with thebestof I was thinking of a number of venues. I dropped by the Afton Hotel and talked with Fiona about what they could offer. The main problem I was facing was not know how big the event would be. After all it was arranged purely through Twitter so it could have been a few or even a large group. I was told how the Afton Hotel can cope with small gatherings to that of a large function. This made them the perfect choice. Better than expected they even provided a range of tasty snacks appreciated by all the attendees. We shall continue to host the tweetup's there for as long as @aftonhotel will have us. A big thank your to Marco, Cathy, Fiona, Jason and the bar team who all played a part in making the evening a success!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2011, said about Afton Hotel

A very big thank you to Marco and Cathy for making the guests of the first Eastbourne Tweetup so very welcome. Like all the the bestof Eastbourne members they went that extra mile to offer a first class service, providing some tasty snacks. It is little things like that and a warm welcome that make Afton special. I will definitely be back.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In May 2011, said about Afton Hotel

The location of this hotel is ideal with it being so close to the town centre and the pier. I would certainly stay here again when on business down south. I enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel and would definitely recommend it to others.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In May 2011, said about Afton Hotel

On behalf of the members of Balham Park Lodge and all who attended the Ladies Festival, I am writing to thank everyone at the Afton for making our weekend so enjoyable. From the welcome everyone received and the friendly attitude of all your staff together with the excellent food provided, went to make the weekend most enjoyable. We hope to visit you again in the future and we would have no hesitation in recommending your hotel to others. G Dawber, Treasurer and Festival Organiser Balham Park Lodge, Metropolitan Grand Lodge of London

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful
First Friday FREE Business Networking in Eastbourne

First Friday FREE Business Networking in Eastbourne

Business Networking

The First Friday Network is a monthly free business networking event held at the Afton Hotel in Eastbourne....

Read more...

Celebrate Your Christmas Party Night at the Afton Hotel Eastbourne

Celebrate Your Christmas Party Night at the Afton Hotel Eastbourne

  • 5th August 2013
  • Author: David Ruddle
  • 0 Comments

Have you thought about your Christmas party yet?...

read more »
Please HELP keep The Royal Hippodrome Theatre open!

Please HELP keep The Royal Hippodrome Theatre open!

  • 19th October 2012
  • Author: David Ruddle
  • 0 Comments

The Mowbray Murders are holding a special murder mystery to try and raise money for the Friends of the Royal Hippodrome to keep the theatre going....

read more »
John Wesley Woodward Plaque restored Video on YouTube

John Wesley Woodward Plaque restored Video on YouTube

  • 15th April 2012
  • Author: David Ruddle
  • 0 Comments

From a plea to restore the plaque in 2011 to its rededication at Eastbourne Bandstand on the 12th Ap

read more »
Airbourne Eastbourne - Bucket Collection

Airbourne Eastbourne - Bucket Collection

  • 13th April 2012
  • Author: David Ruddle
  • 0 Comments

We love Airbourne!...

read more »
Eastbourne Half-Marathon Sun 4th March 2012 in support of Chestnut Tree House

Eastbourne Half-Marathon Sun 4th March 2012 in support of Chestnut Tree House

  • 28th February 2012
  • Author: David Ruddle
  • 0 Comments

Help a local in their efforts to raise money for Chestnut Tree House....

read more »
What factors to consider when booking a function room for an event.

What factors to consider when booking a function room for an event.

  • 2nd February 2012
  • Author: David Ruddle
  • 0 Comments

When choosing a venue for a party, function or special event there are so many things you may forget to ask....

read more »
The first Eastbourne Tweetup, Social Media Day! At the Afton Hotel

The first Eastbourne Tweetup, Social Media Day! At the Afton Hotel

  • 3rd July 2011
  • Author: David Ruddle
  • 0 Comments

We launched the FIRST Eastbourne Tweetup (that I know of) on the 30th of June at the Afton Hotel....

read more »
Function Room Hire for Eastbourne events Business or Pleasure!

Function Room Hire for Eastbourne events Business or Pleasure!

  • 16th May 2011
  • Author: David Ruddle
  • 0 Comments

If your looking for a central Eastbourne venue for any occasion....

read more »
  • Contact Us

    2-8 Cavendish Place
    Eastbourne
    East Sussex
    BN21 3EJ
  • find us here

  • find us on facebook

  • follow us

    This is a live stream from Twitter - not the voice of thebestof!
    aftonhotel: Happy Mothering Sunday to all Mum's everywhere. http://t.co/OzDCP96TS3 493 hours ago
    aftonhotel: Many congratulations to Troy & Aiden who celebrate their marriage with us today. Love conquers all :-) http://t.co/V0hOe8xvYW 517 hours ago
    aftonhotel: Can't wait to stock up on yummies @ #ebmarket returning Weds 26th & our guests love it too:-) 709 hours ago
    aftonhotel: @Eastbournepol We hear about it next day from guests & its 3-4am. Wish u guys were nearer Atlantis then :-) 824 hours ago
    aftonhotel: Stephen & Denise enjoyed their Valentine theme for their special day "All you need is love, love,love is all you... http://t.co/6vuIxasW4K 1550 hours ago

Don't forget to mention thebestof when calling this business 01323 733162

not quite what you're looking for?

Alerts on This Page