Sign In/Up Search Sections

Bringing trusted Chester businesses and the community together

about us

With locally sourced English restaurant food and stunning views, take the opportunity to visit The Pheasant Inn near Chester.

<?xml version="1.0"?>

The Pheasant Inn - outstanding food, and much more, in a relaxing country setting

Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a quiet romantic weekend and excellent English Restaurant and European cuisine.

Eat and Drink

At The Pheasant Inn, we aim to source the best local ingredients and keep the preparation and cooking of them relatively simple, to produce bags of flavour and taste on the plate. There's nothing too frilly or fancy - just good honest wholesome English Restaurant and European cooking!

Our menu is designed in three sections:

 

  • Light-bites section - for those that fancy a quick pit-stop or a simple salad
  • Home-comforts section - honouring time tested traditional gastro pub food
  • Main course section - featuring more varied British Restaurant and European cuisine.

See our menus

Our bar features four real ales recognised for their well-kept quality by CAMRA (Campaign for Real Ales) and is featured in the Good Beer Guide 2010. Furthermore and even better still, The Pheasant Inn has been awarded CAMRA's Pub of the Season, Summer 2010.

The Pheasant Inn also boasts a fantastic wine list featuring wines from around the world by renowned producers.

 

 

Accommodation

Housed in delightful old Cheshire sandstone buildings, our twelve en-suite rooms combine both style and comfort and feature modern facilities such as complimentary wireless broadband internet.

The Pheasant Inn is without doubt one of the most picturesque inns in Cheshire. Whether in the main building or the ivy-clad stable wing, you'll find an attention to detail that anticipates your every need.

See more of our rooms

The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn enjoys a beautiful rural setting with extensive views across the Cheshire plain to the Welsh hills. Here you can get far away from it all… but remain astonishingly close to the city.

Chester is a mere 15 minutes away by car, with both Liverpool and Manchester just 40 minutes. It's a perfect location for business or pleasure - and offers a memorable way of giving that special business guest a taste of traditional English hospitality.

The Pheasant Inn offers an ideal base for every kind of country pursuit. Walking, golf, angling and shooting are all close at hand while Chester Racecourse and Oulton Park motor racing circuit are just a short drive.

If shopping is your sport, you can choose from stylish Chester or Europe's largest designer outlet at Cheshire Oaks. Read more

 


 

To make a restaurant table reservation, room booking, or to find out more about The Pheasant Inn, please contact:

The Pheasant Inn
Higher Burwardsley
Tattenhall
Nr Chester
Cheshire
CH3 9PF

Tel: 01829 770 434

Email: info@thepheasantinn.co.uk

Online Booking

or click here to visit our website

 


Please mention thebestofchester when visiting or contacting The Pheasant Inn, near Chester - for superb English Restaurant dining.

latest reviews

In February 2012, said about The Pheasant Inn

We had a lovley time at The Pheasant Inn near Chester for good, wholesome, freshly-cooked modern English restaurant fare and wholesome European food. During winter months you can enjoy inviting meals around their open log fire or dine outside in the summer months whilst appreciating the wonderful panoramic views of the Cheshire countryside

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In January 2012, said about The Pheasant Inn

Great Food, great Atmosphere, great value what more do you want? Peter G

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

I frequently enjoy the welcoming atmosphere of The Pheasant by walking there, as part of the Sandstone Trail. I often recommend friends and colleagues to go and also sample the excellent menu provided, which offers fresh exciting menu choices. I have even sampled a New Years Eve hospiitality and would highly recommend that other people also consider it,and the view needs to be experienced. The staff are always welcomming,and the service is of an exceptionally high standard! A place in the Heart of Cheshire to be explored!! Pam B

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

After a long walk over the hills what a fantastic place to finish at. Great food, real ale superb and the staff so friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them. We have been back there several times. Peter B, Wirral

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

Fantastic place! What a great welcome, the atmosphere is great and the beer and wine choice is superb and I haven't even mentioned the food! All I can say this is one of the most enjoyable places to spend a night out I've been to for a long time. Well done The Pheasant and I look forward to many more great evenings to come!! Alan J

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

It's got to be one of the best places for a pint of beer in the summer sitting outside looking at that view or in the winter in front of a roaring fire. The staff are always so friendly and food never disappoints. One of my favourite places. Stephanie W

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

They have fantastic food, magnificent views and good wines. The staff is really friendly and helpful. Ellen P

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

Magnificent views, nowhere better for romantic couples. Great service nothing is to much trouble. A solid 5 out of 5 Dave S

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

My wife and I adore The Pheasant Inn. When friends and family come to stay we always take them to The Pheasant and it always delivers the WOW factor in every way, great beer and food and incredible location. A real piece of paradise in Cheshire. Wesley F

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

A great pub - fantastic food and gorgeous views. Can't ask for more for a Sunday afternoon. Michael S

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

I love The Pheasant Inn and I'm lucky to have it as one of my locals! A stunning building in its own right, amazing location, delicious food, cosy interior and incredible views. This venue is very heard to beat. It's even dog friendly, so after the pooches have had a walk along the Sandstone Trail they get a pint too! Karen F

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant in Burwardsly, is the place to be, beautiful food and scenery! The views are dramatic and never dull, and the food leaves you warm and comfortably full. By the roaring fire a pint or a wine,before settling down at the table to dine.It really is the place to be, especialy if you are a devoted foodeee!!!! Jacki D

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant is a truly wonderful place. We always go for the weekend just before Christmas and it really sets us up for the festive period. We've been every year for the last 5 years and have booked again already. Absolutely the best. Steven M

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant is a lovely country pub and is situated in what must be one of the most idyllic settings in Cheshire. I have eaten there many many times and can honestly say I don't have one negative thing to say about this place. The food is delicious, service efficient, staff very friendly and there is always a great atmosphere which when all added together makes for a truly enjoyable experience. Susan S

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

Wonderful atmosphere, love the sofas by the fire. Good food, beer, wine and friendly staff. Carole D

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

Where to eat on a miserable Sunday afternoon .The Pheasant in Burwardsley had been recommended and as we were nearby we thought we would give it a try. Unfortunately the place was heaving, must have some good offers on, 2 for 1 etc, but no it was busy for no other reason than the excellent food and service and the beautiful location, which I'm sure is even more stunning on a clear sunny day. Jim R

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

Whats not to love, the best pub in the area, fabulous views, fabulous food, fantastic staff. It's one of Chesters best kept secret. Mandy M

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

This is definitely one of my favourite pubs in the chester area. Staff are always friendly, and the atmosphere is always so welcoming - especially on a cold winters day when the log fire is roaring! The food is always of an excellent standard and well presented. Gemma M

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn is a truly lovely place to eat and unwind, with great views across Cheshire, which is especially beautiful at sunset. I have eaten here several time with my partner and family and have not been disappointed. The food is varied, well-presented, reasonable value and - most importantly - delicious! The staff are also very friendly and nothing is ever too much trouble for them. Genuinely one of the nicest places to visit in Cheshire! Kelly R

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant is a regular lunch out for my family, as it has amazing views, especially when the sun shines, and the menu always manages to suit everyone. The staff are always very friendly and make us feel very welcome. I would reccomend taking advantage of not having to drive after a drink and stay the night. The bedrooms are very comfortable. I would say the whole package is worth a visit! Clair-Louise B

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

I regularly go up to the Pheasant for an enjoyable meal. The food is always top notch and the menu is regularly changed which means that I can try something different every time that I go! Could not fault the place and would definately put this top of my list for best places to eat out in Chester. Natalie P

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

IThe location of this county Inn is supurb. The views across the Cheshire Plains are stunning as is the quality of food and customer service. The inn has such a friendly and welcoming atmosphere making it feel like a home from home especially as we are allowed to pop in with our pooch after a lovely walk around the Bickerton Hills. Through out summer and winter this really is one of the best country pubs around Chester. Kimberley H

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

The staff are really friendly and the food is excellent our favourite place to eat and unwind and a lovely warm and cosy place to stay. Lovely views across Cheshire and some nice walks. A little bit of heaven. Janice H

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

Fantastic Food, Fantastic Location, Fantasic Service! Highly recommend to anyone!! Been back time after time - never disappointed! Laura P

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn is a truly amazing place; the best food, wine, beer and views in Cheshire! Stuart G

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful
  • Contact Us

    Higher Burwardsley
    Tattenhall
    Nr Chester
    Cheshire
    CH3 9PF
    T: 01829 770 434
  • find us here

  • follow us

    This is a live stream from Twitter - not the voice of thebestof!
  • find us on facebook

  • thebestof awards

    • Best loved Business (In Place) 2011

Don't forget to mention thebestof when calling this business 01829 770 434

not quite what you're looking for?

Alerts on This Page