Sign In/Up Search Sections

Showcasing thebestof Carlisle

about us

media-image

Whether you are looking for yoga for quiet meditation, losing weight, to complement a sport or to give you increased mobility, come along to Carlisle's Purple Lotus and find a yoga class that's just perfect for you.

<?xml version="1.0"?>

The Purple Lotus - Carlisle's best holistic health and fitness centre

Relax, rejuvenate, revive !
Call 01228 899301

 

The Purple Lotus is Carlisle's only yoga and alternative therapy centre and can be found in the centre of Carlisle. Offering a wide range of yoga classes, meditation and alternative therapies, there really is no better place to rediscover yourself.

 

The Purple Lotus provides a haven of peace and quiet for all age ranges and abilities and is run by highly qualified teachers and practitioners/therapists who pride themselves on their professional standards, delivered with dedication in a friendly, open atmosphere.

 

The Purple Lotus in Carlisle offers a range of classes and workshops including:

 

  • Yoga for pregnancy
  • Children's yoga
  • Yoga for weight loss
  • Yoga for the elderly
  • Gentle Yoga and Tai Chi
  • Yoga for beginners
  • NIA Dance Fitness
  • SLIMSTYLE weight loss

 

If you are completely new to yoga why not come along for a taster session and discover a very gentle form of exercise that will give you increased mobility and vitality in your life.

 

Types of yoga include:

 

Hatha Yoga

 

Hatha means Sun and Moon and links active and passive aspects of nature. Hatha yoga class is usually more passive, and involves holding poses for a longer period and therefore a gentler form of yoga.

 

Ashtanga/Power Yoga and Dynamic Flow

 

Ashtanga or Power Yoga is based on a series of asanas (postures) which increase in difficulty, allowing students to work at their own pace.

 

Dynamic Flow Yoga is a creative style of Ashtanga yoga combining breath and movement together creating a seamless flow of postures to realign the spine and open the body. Professional sports people recognise the benefits of Dynamic Flow Yoga and Ashtanga which can complement and enhance an active sports regime. The Purple Lotus can tailor the exercises to suit individual sports.

 

Nia Dance Classes

 

The Purple Lotus is the only centre in the region that offers Nia - a combination of dance, martial arts and body awareness. Click here to see this amazing form of exercise.

  

For more information about the Nia timetable, please click here.

 

 

Slimstyle Weight Loss

These dynamic weight-loss classes are offered in weekly and monthly sessions.

You'll have fun, lose weight, and feel great too.

They give a successful alternative to TV advertised weight loss programs - they're fun, vibrant, and with some great, like-minded people.  Slimstyle weight loss uses exercise and lifestyle and combines them with new ways of thinking about yourself. You'll take Slimstyle into your life, and see dramatic results - not only in your weight.

 For more information please click here.

or contact Sally on 07738 929969

 

 

The Purple Lotus offers daily lunchtime classes and free meditation too. If you are unable to attend a regular class, the Purple Lotus can arrange for an occasional session or a one-to-one session. Call 01228 899301 for further details.

 

For full details about all the yoga classes at the Purple Lotus, please click here.

 

The Purple Lotus - discover a better way of relaxing, rejuvenating and living
Call 01228 899301

 

The Purple Lotus offers a wide range of complementary and alternative therapies. Click here to find out more details of other services available.

 

In addition the Purple Lotus also offers a wide range of aloe vera products. For further information please click here.

 

Call into the Purple Lotus, Carlisle's only yoga and alternative therapy centre, and discover a wide range of yoga classes, meditation and alternative therapies today.

 


Please Mention The Best of Carlisle When You Contact The Purple Lotus
The Best of Carlisle Category: Yoga
www.thebestof.co.uk//local/Carlisle
If you have used The Purple Lotus, The Best of Carlisle would like to hear about your experience so that we can provide a better service for all our users.
Thanks for visiting The Purple Lotus on The Best of Carlisle

 


 

latest reviews

In August 2010, said about Purple Lotus

I have been here several times for aromatherapy massage. The facilities are great, the therapist, Tanya, is excellent. They also offer several types of yoga, but I haven't tried those. You should give them a try!! Thanks, Terry M.

3/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2010, said about Purple Lotus

Had a massage with Tanya..... In 1word.... Fabulous!!! Am returning very soon for another and will continue to do so!!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In August 2010, said about Purple Lotus

Really friendly, and welcoming. The yoga classes are well run with very good tuition. The classes are as challenging as you want them to be. The yoga room itself is a large open space, which is peaceful and relaxing, everyone is nice.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2010, said about Purple Lotus

I have attended Nia Classes, Antenatal Yoga and meditation sessions here and have had nothing but positive experiences. Teaching is friendly, enthusiastic and welcoming in a lovely studio (fantastic sprung floor) with a calming and welcoming atmosphere. Try it and see!

3/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2010, said about Purple Lotus

The Purple Lotus is the best remedy for unhappy, lonely and scared soul. It's the place where you can calm your body and be alone with heavens soul. It makes you full of love spirit that finds itself within the simple beauty of nature.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2010, said about Purple Lotus

the food is always great and i al enjoy i always enjoy it.

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2010, said about Purple Lotus

I love this business because Deb & her team at the Purple Lotus are passionate about what they do! The classes they run are fun, fitness orientated & very loving & nurturing! Just like Deb herself. They have recently started classes for kids so there business really does provide holistic health for all the family. the dance studio the classes are held in is like a sanctuary & is very peaceful harmonious & an extremly calm place to be! I love it!!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2010, said about Purple Lotus

What wonderful people and perfect setting. I didn't want to go home after my gentle yoga class.

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2010, said about Purple Lotus

' I first visited Jan Ford Batey 10 years ago and I can honestly say she has been one of the greatest discoveries I have ever made. Through Jan's kindness, skill and unfailing positivity I have learnt to be a healthier and happier person. My persistent and debilitating stomach problems which once left me feeling so unwell and lethargic no longer hang over me and I am free to live life to its fullest. I will be forever grateful'. Love Hollie xx

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2010, said about Purple Lotus

I'm a fan of thai massage, it's like meditation with all the benefits of yoga thrown in. A bit of time to relax, be quiet and chill out. Ideal stress buster in this increasingly busy world of ours. Go on, give it a try! (Testimonial Supplied by Andy H)

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about Purple Lotus

Have been here for a facial massage and it was wonderful, felt chilled and the stresses of the day faded away. would recommend it to anyone. I have also been to the yoga class and the atmosphere in the room is lovely you feel relaxed when you walk in and the class was really good for all levels. claire

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about Purple Lotus

The Purple Lotus offers world class Yoga right in the centre of Carlisle. A beautiful Yoga studio that feels like a calm oasis. Amazing!

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about Purple Lotus

I really enjoy the NIA classes - all the fun of dance but also great aerobic exercise. There's nothing else quite like it. Makes us all smile.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about Purple Lotus

A great place to exercise and in such nice surroundings with excellent people, come and see for your self.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about Purple Lotus

I really love the Nia classes. They are such good fun and so well instructed. I have found that my body is more toned and I have lost weight by attending them on a regular basis. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about Purple Lotus

I love the purple lotus centre as it is an oasis in the centre of town. The staff are all so helpful and friendly. If your new to the world of yoga and holistic health this is the place to go,it's not in the least intimidating and every time I visit I feel fantastic.

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about Purple Lotus

thanks Jan Ford-Batey for all your help with my allergies. love Alistair

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about Purple Lotus

They run yoga & Nia classes & are probably the best in town! Lots of classes being added to their programme

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about Purple Lotus

A really welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Great yoga teaching and support.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about Purple Lotus

I am really enjoying Tai Chi and also Nia at the Purple Lotus through MIND. The studio is very nice it has a lovely atmosphere about it, so calming and the staff very friendly. I find these exercises much more enjoyable than going to the gym. I have a real sense of well being when the class has finished. Shirley R

3/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about Purple Lotus

Im well hooked, great atmosphere, fab team, very handy location,good choice of classes, times and abilities- work as hard (or not) as you wish. Muriel

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about Purple Lotus

This is a great place, welcoming friendly brilliant atmosphere,great for limbering up with different kinds of yoga, or working out with NIA. lov love love the Purple Lotus and all the team x

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about Purple Lotus

I started going to Purple Lotus about a year ago and got so hooked on the Nia that I have now done the course and am teaching the classes myself! It's such a lovely place, well situated and everyone there is so pleasant.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about Purple Lotus

I discovered the Purple Lotus in 2009. It is an oasis in the desert of life!!!!!! At last a place in Carlisle that can compete with the dance studios of the South. Well trained, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful staff. A great ambience created that appeals to all the senses. A wide range of classes to suit all. An excellent place for the mind, body and spirit. May it go from strength to strength.Well done Debz for opening this long awaited venture in Carlisle we are very lucky!!!!Suzanne Kelsey

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about Purple Lotus

Great place, friendly and well trained staff. I only went for a Thai massage and have now signed up for a course of Yoga lessons. Top Top business, top top place to go.

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful
  • Contact Us

    Kinmont Barn
    Treasury Court
    Fisher Street
    Carlisle
    CA3 8RF
    T: 01228 899301
    M: 07790 115009
  • thebestof awards

    • Best loved Business (In Place) 2011
    • Best loved Business (In Place) 2010

Don't forget to mention thebestof when calling this business 01228 899301

not quite what you're looking for?

Alerts on This Page