Sign In/Up Search Sections

about us

Traditional restaurant serving wholesome, home cooked food in the heart of Edenfield, nr Bury.

The Coach and Horses

Traditional Restaurants, Bars, English Restaurants, Pub Food Restaurants and Public Houses, Bars and Inns in Bury

Traditional restaurant serving wholesome, home cooked food in the heart of Edenfield, nr Bury.

Owned and managed by Steven and Mark, The Coach and Horses assures you of a warm welcome in a comfortable environment. Locally known as one of Bury's best pub food restaurants, english restaurants, public houses, bars and inns, The Coach and Horses certainly lives up to it's excellent reputation. Whether you choose to drop in for a traditional and hearty meal, a snack, or a pint of fine, real ale our friendly and informative team will be happy to help and advise.

Here you'll find traditional home cooked food, real cask ales and a welcoming real fire.  Perfect for warming you through on a cold winters eve.

Walkers are welcome all year round.

 




Steven is Whitbread trained, previously managing a very successful pub and english restaurant and with experience in the trade spanning over 20 years.


As a leading english restaurant and pub food restaurant, The Coach and Horses use locally sourced produce wherever possible to provide a choice of menu options. All of our menu choices are cooked to order on the premises to the highest standards and quality. We have a regularly changing daily specials board to complement our in house menu to ensure that we have something to cater for everyone.

Along with our well chosen menu we have a range of fine wines and traditional real ales to complement your meal.

Open all day Friday, Saturday and Sunday.  Monday - thursday from 4pm and serving food from 5pm.

 


 

Sample Menu Choice

These are samples from our more extensive menu

Starters

Islands Bury Black Pudding served with a pepper sauce, topped with crispy bacon

Garlic and Cheese Mushrooms sauteed in a garlic cream sauce set on a basil toasted bruschetta, topped with melted Lancashire cheese

Duck and Pork Spring Rolls set on a bed of dressed leaves with a sweet chilli dressing

Chefs Homemade Rustic Soup served with chunky bread


Main Courses

Salmon, Smoked Haddock and Prawn Fish Pie, pan fried in white wine cream sauce topped with cheese mash

Stuffed French Trim Chicken, stuffed with asparagus and goats cheese, accompanied with a creamy tomato and mushroom sauce

Goats Cheese, Basil and Pepper Puff Tartlet served with a tomato and basil sauce topped with parmesan

Lamb Cutlets, trio of lamb cutlets set on a bed of garlic mash, served with a stilton and red wine sauce.

 

Grills

Coach meat plate - 4oz gammon, 4oz rump steak, sausage, lamb cutlet black pudding, fried egg, tomato mushrooms and caramelised onions served with real chips

10oz gammon - fried egg, pineapple, tomato, mushrooms and caramelized onions served with vegetables and real chips

Roasted breast of chicken served with tomatoes, mushrooms, caramelised onions and real chips


Wooden Board Sandwiches

Lancashire mature cheddar with sweet pickle

Salmon and prawns with marie rose dressing

Bacon, lettuce and tomato with mayonnaise


Desserts

Chocolate fudge cake served with vanilla ice cream

Baileys rice pudding, with toasted coconut and caramelised sugar

Bramley apple pie served with vanilla custard

You can also choose from a fantastic Spanish tapas menu, Table d'hote menu and the daytime special menu.

We also have a great range of salads available within our menu which are freshly made to order and served on a bed of mixed lettuce leaves and surrounded by cucumber,mixed peppers, red onion, croutons and lightly drizzled with a rich French dressing.

Sundays offer a choice of traditional roasts available as 2 or 3 courses.

We offer a choice of desserts and freshly ground Italian coffee to complete your meal. Dessert choices change on a regular basis. Please ask for details. A variety of liqueur coffees are available.

We welcome parties and have a lovely conservatory area which is available to make your party more personal if required.




As one of Bury's best public houses, bars and inns, The Coach and Horses stocks a varied range of traditional hand pulled real ales, fine wines and Spanish San Miguel to name a few. Why not come and sample some of our products and savour the friendly and welcoming atmosphere here at The Coach and Horses, traditional restaurant, pub food restaurant and english restaurant on the Bury / Rossendale border.

We also have a car park at the rear of the premises for your convenience.

01706 893 528

The Coach and Horses, traditional restaurant in the heart of Edenfield, Bury.

 


 

Please mention that you found us at thebestofbury.

latest reviews

In February 2014, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Excellent service - friendly and cooperative and very helpful. 5 stars, thanks

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2014, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Excellent meal and service, clean and tidy good value OK. I recommend eating here

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2014, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Good food and staff always pleasant and eager to please. We have already recommended this pub/restaurant

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2014, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Excellent staff, bar atmosphere and food, especially the Steak. 5 Stars Thanks

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2014, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Very good, friendly service, the food also very good. Thanks. 5 stars awarded

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2014, said about The Original Coach and Horses

The food and the service were excellent and terrific value for money. 5 stars

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2014, said about The Original Coach and Horses

The food was good, service fine. The coffees were a little weak though. 3 stars

3/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2014, said about The Original Coach and Horses

I would rate The Original Coach & Horses as a 3 star, but quite adequate. Thanks

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2014, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Lovely food and good service. Good value for money. I would recommend. thanks

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2014, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Excellent food, well worth waiting for. Very clean. Friendly staff. Been here quite a few times, never been disappointed. See you again soon

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2014, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Great home made food. Dog friendly. Good portions. Great garlic bread & rag pudding

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In January 2014, said about The Original Coach and Horses

An excellent meal with equally good service. the pub was clean an tidy and overall good value.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In January 2014, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Excellent service - friendly, cooperative and very helpful staff. 5 stars for The Coach and Horses.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In January 2014, said about The Original Coach and Horses

One of us had sea bass which she thought was very small. Salmon was good but again would be a bit small for a male. Cheesecake delicious. A nice atmosphere with lovely waitresses. Please check the toilets for toilet roll though.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In December 2013, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Visited the coach and horses Wednesday 18th December the menu looked ok and the prices reasonable. I decided on the chefs famous steak pudding and my partner on the delicious sounding burger with sauteed onions and mushrooms with Lancashire cheese. After a 30 minute wait for the food it arrived. The good points the chips were homemade hot and crispy, the steak pudding was hot and nice, however this arrived with frozen cauliflower and broccoli not the best thought out dish, a portion of mushy peas instead would have been far better and would have made the whole meal nice. My partners burger arrived, presented nicely on a wooden platter. The chips and salad looked good the burger on the other hand looked like a 99p burger that you microwave. The bun was a pre sliced burger bun, the Lancashire cheese was a square of processed 'plastic' cheese the sauteed onions and mushrooms appeared to have been fried for 30 seconds maximum. The burger was a complete disappointment and quite frankly a McDonald's burger would have been tastier. The onion rings were also disappointingly of the deep fried frozen variety. If the burger meal was around the £5 mark it would still have been hugely disappointing but more palatable, but at £10.50 was outrageous. This pub / restaurant could be very good it's well decorated and inviting, it has good local beer and a good selection at the bar. It just needs to either reprice and rethink its menu and seriously improve its quality of food.

1/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In October 2013, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Quite possibly the worst meal I've ever had. Hour and a half wait, nine of us, but only us in pub. Steak blue on a sandwich, dips missing, salmon salad had no salad, hair in the olives, bread bun for soup stuck to serviette. Spicy tomato soup tasted more like bitter tomato! No apology for wait until after we had complained about the food, which we had to eat as we were starving after we had been to lay my grandad to rest in the church next door and waited so long for it to arrive. We had checked earlier in the day that they were ok with us going in and they had said this was fine. Sorry will not ever be visiting again.

1/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful
Reply from Debi F:
We are deeply sorry for the poor standards that you experienced on your recent visit and would like to explain where this all went wrong. Earlier in the day I am aware that you came in to ask whether we would be able to serve you after you had laid your grandad to rest and I quite clearly stated yes. Maybe wrongly, I assumed that this was for drinks and so when you returned for food I was ill prepared. The chef was out at the time and, although I do have catering experience it is, I admit limited. At the time I thought I was doing the right thing as the chef was due back and so I started the food in his absence. Unfortunately he was delayed and rather than explaining, I carried on. I now know what a mistake this was and do feel bad that your experience was so poor. These, I can assure you are not the standards that we practice here at The Coach and Horses and I am truly sorry for the experience that you received that day. I really did believe that I was helping by attempting to deliver your meals and have learned a very painful lesson and one that I will not repeat. I appreciate that I should have explained from the beginning which would have given you an opportunity to make the choice knowing the full details. I would like to personally invite you back to dine with us at a table for 2 to the value of £40 so that we can show you that we are not normally like this. This will of course be cooked by our resident chef and I can assure you of our full attention should you wish to return. Once again, I can only apologise and totally uderstand your reasons for complaint. What you received that day is totally uncharacteristic of us and I'd like the opportunity to put this right. Very kind regards, Brian Alcock

In May 2013, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Fantastic home cooked food,by far the best ,lovely waitress service.We will definetly be coming back for sunday dinner

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2013, said about The Original Coach and Horses

The original coach & horses = Good Food, Keen prices, friendly staff, children very welcome.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In May 2012, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Waitress excellent. Food good, wine gorgeous. Very good value for money!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In May 2012, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Excellent food, Excellent service - Naomi. We'll be back!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In May 2012, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Best salmon in a 50 mile radius Fantastic! Amazing food well done guys.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In May 2012, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Excellent meal (steak deal) mushroom sauce superb 5 * would definatley recommend and will be returning.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In May 2012, said about The Original Coach and Horses

We had a lovely night the food was beautiful and very good value for money. We were made very welcome by the lovely waitress and would definately recommend to friends, thanks!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In May 2012, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Really enjoyed the meal at The Original Coach and Horses.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In May 2012, said about The Original Coach and Horses

Totally enjoyed this dining experience, fabulous steak - the freshest of vegetables... See you again next week!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful
  • Contact Us

    163 Market Street
    Edenfield
    Ramsbottom
    Lancashire
    BL0 0HJ
    T: 01706 893 528
  • find us here

  • offers

  • thebestof awards

    • Best loved Business (In Place) 2011

Don't forget to mention thebestof when calling this business 01706 893 528

not quite what you're looking for?

Alerts on This Page