Sign In/Up Search Sections
#

about us

The Met is an independent performing arts theatre and charitable organisation based in Bury

WHAT IS THE MET?

"...a goldmine of entertainment in the heart of Bury"

An independent performing arts theatre and charitable organisation based in Bury, just north of Manchester. Run by Bury Metropolitan Arts Association, a company limited by guarantee (No. 2370868) and a registered charity (No. 701879).

The Met is a charitable organisation based in the centre of Bury. This feature has been donated to The Met by The Best of Bury in recognition of the service that they provide to the local community.

 


 

About The Met

The Met presents contemporary and classic theatre, music and comedy touring nationally and internationally. It regularly presents new and exciting artists who go on to become household names as well as established artists performing to sell-out audiences all over the world.

The Met is a hive of activity all year round, with workshops and events featuring on the packed programme regularly. Local events held at The Met include Bury Beer Festival, Urban Moves, Family Friendly Film Festival, Big Whistle, Ramsbottom Blues Festival and Big Sing.

With the assistance of our funders, donations and sponsors, we maintain affordable prices for our events. We are committed to offering first class live entertainment - and welcoming you to the friendliest live arts venue in the North West of England!

 


 

Membership at The Met

If you love coming to The Met and want to show your support, consider joining our membership scheme. Memberships cost just £25 per year for which you will receive the following:

  • Member parking
  • £2 off each Met event ticket
  • 10% discount off food in Automatic
  • Exclusive invitations to VIP events at The Met
  • Exclusive invitations to Bury Art Gallery previews
  • An exclusive invitation to two member events per year
  • Two newsletters detailing the big events going on sale

Your donation will help to keep the very best talent coming to The Met now and well into the future.

 


 

Hire The Met

The Met is the perfect venue for events of every sort, with two and studios and a main theatre that can be hired from 5 up to 300 people. The Met can accommodate everything from the smallest private meeting or party to public exhibitions, conferences or theatre and music performances.

Our experienced staff and professional facilities take the hassle out of your event:

  • Marketing advice and support
  • Fully licensed bar and practised bar staff
  • Ticket sales through our friendly box office
  • Sound and lighting by experienced stage technicians
  • High quality catering from the expert chefs of Automatic

We welcome promotions by bands, amateur and professional groups, and independent event promoters.

Discount hire rates apply for charitable and non-profit events.

 



Contact The Met

Box Office - 0161 761 2216

Administration - 0161 761 7107

To email The Met or to visit the website please use the links at the top of this page.

latest reviews

In June 2012, said about The Met, Bury

Really enjoyed out family visit here today. Helpful and friendly staff, will definitely be going again.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In May 2012, said about The Met, Bury

Been to watch Little Red You Know Who today, was lucky enough to win a family of 4 ticket on twitter last night and we had front row seats. The Met is lovely inside, the staff are so friendly and had pictures for the children to colour in before the show started. The show itself was fantastic, the kids found it really funny and the man that did the whole show himself with the puppets interacted with the audience and spent time at the end to answer any questions and let you look at the characters and props. All in all a fantastic experience and I would highly recommend the met and the show. Thanks so much to Kathryn at the best of bury and the met theatre.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about The Met, Bury

Recently enjoyed January evening watching Manc Folyd (Pink Floyd) Tribute act both the band and venue were excellent

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In May 2011, said about The Met, Bury

The Met in Bury is a comfortable and pleasant place to go. There is a lovely cafe attached with lots of fine foods and surroundings. The staff at the Met are very helpful with any issues concerning disability access including making arrangements for lower seating. There is a bar next to the theatre for refreshments and the chairs in the theatre are comfortable and well spaced. The stage is close to the audience making you really feel part of the show. The venue is clean and tidy and staff are friendly and helpful. An enjoyable experience.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Met, Bury

How lucky we are to have The Met practically on our doorstep. We have visited numerous times including Xmas Pantos, Comedy shows and serious plays. Nice and cosy - great venue with some great acts

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2011, said about The Met, Bury

It is fantastic to have a local theatre like this. they cater to families, couples and organisations and do an exceptional job. They encourage visitors to Bury which helps business owners like myself.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In January 2011, said about The Met, Bury

I visited The Met on the 22nd December with my 7 yr old son, his friend and her grandma. We had a lovely evening! We went to see The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe and were very impressed with the show and the performers. It was produced really well and considering the room that everyone had to work with was played out ever so well. I was particularly impressed with Aslan's head - wow! The show lasted a good couple of hours - was excellent value for money and a wonderful Christmas treat for the children. If you haven't visited The Met you really should. There is always something going on of interest to all ages. Keep up the good work!

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2010, said about The Met, Bury

The Met is such a great venue to have right on our doorstep. The standard of live music is really high - a perfect antidote to the constant diet of karaoke, brainless pop and elevator music that we’re fed elsewhere.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In December 2007, said about The Met, Bury

This is a great place to be! There is always a great variety of music, theatre and more. With shows to cater for every taste - young or old alike, why not give it a try for an enjoyable evening out in Bury.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful
Introduction to Sound Recording

Introduction to Sound Recording

Learning, Education

This one day course at The Met, Bury, will teach 14-16 year olds all they need to know about sound recording.

Read more...

Ramsbottom Festival 2014

Ramsbottom Festival 2014

Festivals, Fairs, Parades

The North-West's boutique festival is being held on the 19th, 20th and 21st September this year.

Read more...

'Hey, Presto' at The Met, Bury

'Hey, Presto' at The Met, Bury

Family Fun, Kids

The Met, Bury is showing a heart-warming tale of aspiration, friendship, adventure. Hey, Presto features a little bit of mischief accompanied by catchy songs and is the perfect treat for everyone aged three and up.

Read more...

'Hugless Douglas' production at The Met, Bury

'Hugless Douglas' production at The Met, Bury

Family Fun, Kids

Hugless Douglas is a huggable, lovable young brown bear who wakes up one morning in need of a hug. Little Cubs aged 3 - 7 years old will love this heartwarming tale showing at The Met, Bury.

Read more...

The Queen's Knickers at The Met, Bury

The Queen's Knickers at The Met, Bury

Family Fun, Kids

Get your knickers in a twist with this classic comedy for wise young children, showing at The Met, Bury. A celebration of the garments we all wear, but never show, this children's classic is inventively told by two elastic actors. It's all about knickers but it definitely won't be pants....

Read more...

Lolly, Pops and Circus Props at The Met, Bury

Lolly, Pops and Circus Props at The Met, Bury

Family Fun, Kids

Watch this fantastic children's production at The Met, Bury about Lolly. Lolly dreams of adventure and travel but when she runs away from the circus to see the world, she encounters a few unexpected obstacles along the way. She soon realises that the circus isn't so bad after all.

Read more...

Hansel and Gretel

Hansel and Gretel

Family Fun, Kids

A beautiful and mysterious version of classic fairytale Hansel and Gretel. Using puppets, masks, music and film, Rossendale's Horse and Bamboo Theatre Company have baked up a delicious treat of a show for Christmas 2014 at The Met.

Read more...

The Met is Named One of the Top 100 Venues in The UK

  • 1st June 2012
  • Author: Debi F
  • 0 Comments

The Met in Bury is one of the top 100 venues in the UK according to PRS for Music.

read more »
  • Contact Us

    The Met,
    Market Street,
    Bury,
    Lancashire
    BL9 0BW
    T: 0161 761 7107
  • find us here

  • find us on facebook

Don't forget to mention thebestof when calling this business 0161 761 7107

not quite what you're looking for?

Alerts on This Page