Sign In/Up Search Sections

Philip J Milton & Company Plc

about us

media-image

Philip J Milton & Company Plc is an established, fully independent financial adviser and discretionary investment manager providing clients in Barnstaple, the UK and internationally with a reputable, comprehensive and trustworthy service.

Philip J Milton & Company Plc

Sterling House

17 Joy Street

Barnstaple

EX31 1HE

Tel: 01271 308095


 

Philip J Milton & Company Plc was founded in 1985 by Mr Philip Milton to provide a fully independent financial planning and investment planning service. In 1996, the company became a Public Limited Company (Plc) and offers outstanding and trustworthy financial advice to the UK and internationally, whilst being based in Barnstaple, North Devon.

 



With over 25 years of experience, our staff are highly trained with qualifications beyond the required industry standard to ensure client satisfaction and to maintain the lead that the Company has. Authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), Philip J Milton & Company Plc is regulated at one of the highest available categories and is authorised to hold client money. The company accounts are audited independently and full accounts are submitted and published to the FCA at regular intervals.

 


The Company's commitment to its clients, including the ongoing assessment and management of investments, alongside a vast knowledge and understanding of financial markets and long-term financial stability is the key to its success. Our client recommendations are the proof of the quality of our services.

Philip J Milton & Company Plc offers services including:


Discretionary Investment Management - The Company considers each investor's personal circumstances and then makes all the investment decisions on their behalf. We provide totally independent investment strategies for clients by building and monitoring the progress of their portfolios and reacting to market changes in accordance with the investors' best interests. We actively manage approaching £100m of clients' money in this way, taking advantage of opportunities from the whole universe of investment products and funds and responding to ever changing economic and investment circumstances as we believe best. Our greatest activity is continuing oversight, however and not constant change!


Retirement Planning - The Company provides advice regarding retirement objectives to ensure that when the time comes its clients will not be left disappointed. Too many have made too little or no provision or have left the review too late. With the rise in State Pension age and further reforms expected in the years ahead, are you still on track?


Taxation and Accountancy - Offering an efficient and professional service, Philip J Milton & Company Plc is extremely proud of its Taxation & Accountancy department. Key aspects of the department include: Taxation advice and planning, Personal/Trust/Estate Tax Returns & Reclaims, Book-Keeping, VAT returns and Payroll among others.

Will Writing, Executorship and Probate Administration Services - Offering a compassionate, cost-effective and efficient service to its clients by providing peace of mind for any eventuality since 2000. The Company is consistently surprised at how many clients do not have a valid Will in place and stresses how important it is for affairs and arrangements to be made should the worst happen. Philip J Milton & Company Plc can be appointed as an Executor to a Will to enable the Company to protect loved ones from any further stress after a death, either as a single executor or appointed alongside a trusted family member or friend. Wills are also stored indefinitely without incurring further cost.


Trusts and Estate Planning - Inheritance Tax (IHT) is not a subject that many of us like to discuss, but be assured that the Company provides critical advice and help with every aspect of the necessary planning. Many people are unaware of reforms and changes to IHT laws and how this knowledge could be crucial in safeguarding your hard earned assets.
 

Mortgages - The Company offers an independent Mortgage Broking service, whereby we review the market place and offer impartial advice on the most affordable, suitable and competitive mortgages, including access to exclusive deals that are not available direct to applicants.

 

Execution Only Sharedealing - Philip J Milton & Company Plc provides a competitively priced 'non-advisory' share dealing service. Potential clients only need to contact the Office to register and show proof of their identity, which allows the Company to buy and sell UK shares instantly and provide contract notes within three working days and provide the proceeds from any sales within ten working days (with prior written consent, proceeds can be paid to a nominated Bank or Building Society). The Company has a direct computer link to the Stock Exchange to provide accurate, up-to-date information on securities and for other shares a telephone call is all that is needed.



For further information or advice you can visit the Company website at www.miltonpj.net or contact Philip J Milton & Company Plc directly on:
Tel: 01271 308095
Fax: 01271 342810
E-Mail: info@miltonpj.net


Please mention The Best of Barnstaple when contacting Philip J Milton & Company Plc.

latest reviews

In September 2014, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

I’ll go as far as saying that it is my best experience ever of ‘making of a Will’ – and I have made a few in my lifetime. Your staff members were very helpful and friendly. Thanks

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2014, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

Just wanted to send a personal and sincere thank you for a most informative and well planned Investor Day. From your ice-breaking quiz, Mr Nick Greenwood Fund Manager; Scott on Inheritance Tax and your Opportunities presentation, the whole day was superbly organised and gave us, as well as a good lunch and coffee, plenty of “food for thought"

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2014, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

“I’ll go as far as saying that it is my best experience ever of ‘making of a Will’ – and I have made a few in my lifetime. Your staff members were very helpful and friendly. Thanks.”

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In January 2014, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

Really enjoy the news updates – thanks for your efforts and financial support – as ever.

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In December 2013, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

Your service is of a very high order regarding the preparation of our Wills.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In November 2013, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

May I just say the staff were extremely pleasant, welcoming and very helpful with guardianship matter – please pass on my thanks and appreciation.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In November 2013, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

You have acted entirely professionally in all your dealings with me. I am extremely pleased and grateful for the income that's been generated from the investment of my aunts money.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In September 2013, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

We would like to offer you our sincere and grateful thanks for your kind and efficient service in dealing with our request to withdraw funds from our investments.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2013, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

"Now that our financial arrangements are finalised, I would like to thank you and your team, especially Simon Valentine-Marsh for the help and advice my wife and I have experienced. The timing of conversion to cash of both our Pension Fund and ISA’s enabled us to clear mortgages and invest in an annuity in very “tricky times”. Many thanks.”

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In June 2013, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

We have always received excellent and prompt service in all our dealings with Mark and your Company throughout the past few years. Thank you

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In July 2012, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

I regret the delay in acknowledging receipt of my recent Year End Report. I am so pleased that Milton & Co. continue to deal with my investments, etc. with good results in these volatile & difficult times. It is a great relief to me as, dare I admit it, my knowledge of financial matters is indeed minimal! Very many thanks to your staff members for the work achieved on my behalf. I have every confidence in their expertise and attention for a long standing client.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2012, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

Can we say once again what a pleasure it has been to deal with you and your company and that we do recommend you to our friends as being the best value for money we have spent with regards to sorting out of finances.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2012, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

Overall, I have been very impressed with the service I've received from PJM and would definitely consider using again for any changes to my Will and for Probate services as well

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In April 2012, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

A huge thank you to the team @philipmilton for invaluable financial advice. #recommend

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In March 2012, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

All the staff we both dealt with could not have been more helpful. Very sorry no family members to recommend but I would not hesitate to recommend you to anyone needing financial advice if the situation arose.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

Please convey our thanks to all concerned for the pleasant, informative, and interesting Investor Day at Trimstone Manor yesterday - and also for the excellent lunch.

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

Thank you for the invitation to your Investor Day. A good opportunity to refresh the element that P M & Co regularly bat on about, but with a human face! Food and Ambiance a very good return for our loyalty!!

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In February 2012, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

In relation to your recent correspondence, may I respond by saying the level of service and the level of our investment is perfect for ourselves and we don’t wish to change anything at the moment.

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In January 2012, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

With many thanks for your continued excellent advice in troubled times. I never panic - I know I am in good hands!!

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In December 2011, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

A cheque for your Charitable foundation - this is a very big thank you for looking after my ISA so well. I am so pleased I came over to see you!

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In November 2011, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

“I am writing to you to express my thanks and appreciation for the truly excellent service I have received from your colleague Simon Valentine-Marsh. In June I made the decision to retire from full time employment and at that time consulted Mr Valentine-Marsh for advice. I can say, without reservation, that the service and level of professionalism I have received has been nothing less than excellent. He has dealt with all aspects of the establishment of a Pension for me in a most thorough and efficient manner. I am extremely grateful to him and I should be glad if you would pass on my comments. My Wife and I feel very confident in your Company as our financial advisers and are very grateful for the excellent service we receive from you. May I take this opportunity to wish all of you at Philip J Milton a happy Christmas and prosperous New Year despite the uncertain financial climate.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In September 2011, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

Please find enclosed my customer survey. Tick boxes never really inspire me and only tell half the story. So I have added this to the comment box. We have been a customer of PJM since the transfer of funds from Tiverton. I will continue to use PJM for the following reasons – All dealings whether by phone, e-mail or letter receive courteous and speedy replies. - The information is always clear and precise, and can be broken down into Layman’s terms. - I never feel you as a Company are trying to rip any one off – advice is often given freely but when charges are made they are very reasonable for the level of expertise provided. Long may it continue and many thanks

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In September 2011, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

Please thanks Mr Kerr for sorting out my tax affairs last year. The Revenue were very happy with the result and actually sent me a refund from the previous year!

4/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In September 2011, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

We have been very happy with the advice and service you have given over the many years we've been a client. We have always been impressed by the speed at which we get replies to my queries. And despite the difficult trading conditions our investments continue to improve in value, thanks the acumen of the management team.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful

In September 2011, said about Philip J Milton & Company Plc

I have just had the most pleasant and useful conversation with Scott Pickard regarding the drawing up of my Will. I was impressed with his knowledge and professionalism. He explained all the points clearly and patiently, being aware I'm sure that there were aspects that I had obviously overlooked. It is this quality of service and advice that confirms to me that I have made the right choice in approaching your firm for this important task.

5/ 5stars
Click if you found this review helpful
Barnstaple Financial Adviser Adds Chartered Accountancy to Her Bow

Barnstaple Financial Adviser Adds Chartered Accountancy to Her Bow

  • 12th August 2014
  • Author: Sarah E
  • 0 Comments

Elizabeth Tubby of Philip J Milton & Company Plc has successfully qualified as a Chartered Accountant (CA).

read more »
Devon Financial Adviser Warns Against Property Boom

Devon Financial Adviser Warns Against Property Boom

  • 22nd July 2014
  • Author: Sarah E
  • 0 Comments

North Devon-based Philip J Milton & Co said economists, bankers and politicians are wrong to believe that soaring house prices will help the economy to recover in the same way that Britain benefited from the surge in house building between 1932/34

read more »
Local Leading Independent Investment Management and Financial Advisory Firm Expands

Local Leading Independent Investment Management and Financial Advisory Firm Expands

  • 1st April 2014
  • Author: Sarah E
  • 0 Comments

With skillful assistance from Contratec Developments Ltd of Barnstaple, Philip J Milton & Company Plc, has converted some storage space into modern office accommodation to cater for the Firm's ongoing expansion.

read more »
Barnstaple Financial Adviser Continues to Invest in Talented Trainees

Barnstaple Financial Adviser Continues to Invest in Talented Trainees

  • 17th January 2014
  • Author: Sarah E
  • 0 Comments

Long established firm of independent financial advisers and investment managers, Philip J Milton & Company Plc continues to expand in response to growing demand from local people needing competent and qualified financial advice and help with their investments during these difficult times.

read more »

BARNSTAPLE INDEPENDENT INVESTMENT MANAGER ELECTED AS MEMBER OF THE CHARTERED INSTITUTE FOR SECURITIES & INVESTMENT

  • 8th January 2014
  • Author: Sarah E
  • 0 Comments

Philip J Milton who heads leading North Devon financial advisory and investment management firm Philip J Milton & Company Plc is pleased to announce his election to the the Chartered Institute for Securities and Investment.

read more »
Travelling Abroad? North Devon Financial Advisor Offers Some Top Tips To Save You Money

Travelling Abroad? North Devon Financial Advisor Offers Some Top Tips To Save You Money

  • 14th November 2013
  • Author: Sarah E
  • 0 Comments

If you are travelling abroad there are some annoying hidden charges to look out for........help from Barnstaple based Financial Advisor.

read more »
A Point of View about the Royal Mail Sell Off From North Devon IFA

A Point of View about the Royal Mail Sell Off From North Devon IFA

  • 1st November 2013
  • Author: Sarah E
  • 0 Comments

Did you or didn't get your hands on Royal Mail shares?...

read more »
Your Invite to an Investor Day, Organised by Philip J Milton based in Barnstaple

Your Invite to an Investor Day, Organised by Philip J Milton based in Barnstaple

  • 29th August 2013
  • Author: Sarah E
  • 0 Comments

You are cordially invited to Philip J Milton & Company Plc Investor Day on Wednesday 2nd October at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, Nr Woolacombe.

read more »
Preparing a Will is Great Financial Planning says Philip J Milton of Barnstaple

Preparing a Will is Great Financial Planning says Philip J Milton of Barnstaple

  • 16th November 2012
  • Author: Sarah E
  • 0 Comments

We have been meeting with clients for many years now and all too often, we encounter people that either don’t have a Will or if they do, they have forgotten what it says, don’t understand it or have even forgotten where it is!

read more »

Philip J Milton & Company Plc appoint a new Director to their already excellent panel, Simon Valentine-Marsh.

  • 3rd October 2012
  • Author: Laura H
  • 0 Comments

Philip J Milton & Company Ltd have great delight in appointing a new Director to their already reliable and professional panel....

read more »

Barnstaple Financial Advisor warns against Fraudulent Scams

  • 18th April 2012
  • Author: Sarah E
  • 0 Comments

Leading North Devon's independent investment management and financial advisory firm, Philip J Milton & Company Plc repeats its warnings to people about scams doing the rounds.

read more »

North Devon Couple Win Tickets for Wimbledon 2012

  • 23rd January 2012
  • Author: Sarah E
  • 0 Comments

Anyone for Tennis as North Devon Couple Win 2012 Wimbledon Tickets from Long Established Barnstaple Financial Advisor

read more »

Leading financial advisory firm becomes the first North Devon firm authorised to manage financial claims

  • 11th November 2011
  • Author: Sarah E
  • 0 Comments

Philip J Milton & Company Plc has become the first financial advisory firm in North Devon to be regulated by the Ministry of Justice (MOJ) to manage claims for a wide range of miss-sold financial products

read more »

Planning for a Retirement Income

  • 12th September 2011
  • Author: Sarah E
  • 0 Comments

The South West is a popular area for people to retire to, so you need to forward plan to ensure you can maintain the lifestyle you're used to....

read more »
  • Contact Us

    Sterling House
    17 Joy Street
    Barnstaple
    Devon
    EX31 1HE
  • find us here

  • offers

  • follow us

    This is a live stream from Twitter - not the voice of thebestof!
  • thebestof awards

    • Best loved Business (In Place) 2012

Don't forget to mention thebestof when calling this business 01271 308095

not quite what you're looking for?

Alerts on This Page